Willie Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
This was easy to make and really delicious. It is very, very rich which is why I gave it 4 stars...a little too rich for me with the glaze. I'm going to revise the recipe to lower the carbs by using oil, cocoa and splenda and completely eliminate the glaze though it was very good...just to reduce richness and carbs. Excellent recipe. Great for gift giving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2005
I made this simple cake for a co-worker and it has been rated one of my best creations. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
Woah!! this cake was so rich i could barely eat a sliver without getting a headache. my mom thought it was awesome but it was just too rich for my husband and i. i think the ganache was just a little over the top. maybe some powdered sugar sprinkled over the top instead of the ganache would make it less rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEAUANDLILYSMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
I made this cake for my son's (named William) birthday, and it has become a tradition in our house. I used Ghiradelli Chocolate and the quality of the finished torte was impressive, restautant qaulity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
easy to make and VERY chocolatey. I made this for my sister who has a gluten allergy. She loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
I made this cake for a friend who has celiac's disease and it was a huge hit. The chocolate ganache was very good, but if I make again I will put it in the refrigerator to set. (I'm new to this so maybe that seems obvious but...) I would have also used less bitter chocolate for the topping. Otherwise a fabulous melt in your mouth cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This is a lovely flourless chocolate cake recipe. It's super-rich and like a baked chocolate mousse. I dusted the top with icing sugar and served with thick cream and berries. My friends loved this when I served it recently. Like most flourless cakes it doesn't look terribly pretty as the top sinks and cracks, but the taste makes up for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
This was an excellent cake, but I've had better ones. I'm still on the hunt for the best flourless cake available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Fantastic for a flourless cake! I used milk chocolate for the ganache. You can safely cut the glaze recipe in half. I had a pool of glaze around my cake and plenty left in the bowl. Save yourself half a pound of chocolate and don't make the full batch of icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I tried this recipe because of the reviews, my mom is gluten free and the ingredients are not hard to find. This is an excellent recipe!!! Mom was very happy with it! It is very rich so you only need a small piece and some cold milk. I didnt need to use all of the ganache though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Sweatt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States