Willard Family German Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
This was such a good cake. It is my step-moms favorite so me and my aunt made it for her birthday. Everyone loved it. I can't wait to make it again. My aunt says she will make it again herself. And i disagree with it not being chocolatey enough. It was more chocolatey than any other German chocolate cake I've ate. The frosting was really goo too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soccercook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Used my bourbon soaked nuts for around the outside. Was soooooo good! Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I have made this recipe for years. It was my husband's favorite and I made it every year for his Birthday. The original German Chocolate cake is only meant to use the frosting between the layers and on top. There is no frosting on the sides. The idea of putting chocolate frosting on the sides is fabulous. I have had it this way before and loved it. Either way it is a top notch cake for any occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by izzymae30

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
This is a great tasting cake. In terms of taste only, I would rate this recipe with 5 stars. However, because of the trouble this cake is to make, I'm only rating it with 4 stars. I am not new to cake baking and enjoy cooking and baking very much. This recipe is a bit more "fussy" than my usual cake recipes (for example, having to separate the eggs), and the icing was not as easy as it seemed. I was careful not to thicken my icing TOO much, for fear it would not spread well. Perhaps I didn't thicken it enough, since it slid down the sides of my cake. The finished product looked quite messy. I think if I bake this cake again, I may make it as a sheet cake instead. The photo another reviewer posted with chocolate icing on the sides also seems like a good alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
This was also my first attempt at German Chocolate Cake from scratch. It turned out so moist. I will say that the frosting wasn't enough. It's a good thing that I was moved by the picture and frosted the sides with chocolate frosting. Next time I may double the frosting. Great recipe. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tvan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
So good! I used 9" round cake pans and made only 2 layers which was a perfect size. After reading reviews I also added another 50% to the frosting recipe to make sure I had enough and it came out perfect. Made it for my best friend's birthday and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Pros: This cake was delicious! I added 1 tbsp. Baking cocoa, because folks said it needed a more chocolatey taste. Cons: This cake crumbled apart while I was slicing it - made the cake on day 1, frosted it the morning of day 2, sliced it the evening of day 2. However, on day 3 it was much more sturdy and I could actually get a solid slice out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Small confession... I didn't make the cake BUT the icing is AMAZING! I used another cake recipe from my grams, used a bundt cake pan and this icing and it was so freekin good! I also left the pecan pieces pretty large, and while it was kind of a pain to frost neatly, I really enjoyed the texture mix-up. GREAT recipe! I also had plenty of icing, maybe frosting the layers in between is what depleted some peoples supply? THANK YOU FOR THIS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coreo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I made mine with semi-sweet chocolate. Very moist, and so easy to make!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
My only complaint is that it's really not a chocolatey cake. Next time I will use at least twice the chocolate, or add some cocoa powder to the mix as well. My husband, who loves GC cake and this was for his birthday, asked me if it was a pumpkin cake, judging by the color of it. The rest of it was great. Good texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States