Willard Family German Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
This is a great tasting cake. In terms of taste only, I would rate this recipe with 5 stars. However, because of the trouble this cake is to make, I'm only rating it with 4 stars. I am not new to cake baking and enjoy cooking and baking very much. This recipe is a bit more "fussy" than my usual cake recipes (for example, having to separate the eggs), and the icing was not as easy as it seemed. I was careful not to thicken my icing TOO much, for fear it would not spread well. Perhaps I didn't thicken it enough, since it slid down the sides of my cake. The finished product looked quite messy. I think if I bake this cake again, I may make it as a sheet cake instead. The photo another reviewer posted with chocolate icing on the sides also seems like a good alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
This was also my first attempt at German Chocolate Cake from scratch. It turned out so moist. I will say that the frosting wasn't enough. It's a good thing that I was moved by the picture and frosted the sides with chocolate frosting. Next time I may double the frosting. Great recipe. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tvan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
So good! I used 9" round cake pans and made only 2 layers which was a perfect size. After reading reviews I also added another 50% to the frosting recipe to make sure I had enough and it came out perfect. Made it for my best friend's birthday and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Pros: This cake was delicious! I added 1 tbsp. Baking cocoa, because folks said it needed a more chocolatey taste. Cons: This cake crumbled apart while I was slicing it - made the cake on day 1, frosted it the morning of day 2, sliced it the evening of day 2. However, on day 3 it was much more sturdy and I could actually get a solid slice out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Small confession... I didn't make the cake BUT the icing is AMAZING! I used another cake recipe from my grams, used a bundt cake pan and this icing and it was so freekin good! I also left the pecan pieces pretty large, and while it was kind of a pain to frost neatly, I really enjoyed the texture mix-up. GREAT recipe! I also had plenty of icing, maybe frosting the layers in between is what depleted some peoples supply? THANK YOU FOR THIS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coreo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I made mine with semi-sweet chocolate. Very moist, and so easy to make!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
My only complaint is that it's really not a chocolatey cake. Next time I will use at least twice the chocolate, or add some cocoa powder to the mix as well. My husband, who loves GC cake and this was for his birthday, asked me if it was a pumpkin cake, judging by the color of it. The rest of it was great. Good texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
One of the best German Chocolate cakes I've ever eaten; my coworkers all also agreed! Great recipe! Thank you! I used the coconut frosting in between 2 layers and on the very top, then frosted the sides of the cake with a homemade butter and brown sugar frosting. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abigail Ranae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Osceola, Iowa, USA
Living In: Highland, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Only thing I could add is I wish it made more frosting and less cake. I just never saw the point in a 3 layer cake. I made only 2 layers and used the rest of the batter for cupcakes for my kids as they do not eat pecans or coconut. Even with just 2 layers I would have liked more icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kittie1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ckpsyc
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Cake came out great. I don't know if it was me, but it could use a little more sugar. Also greasing the pans are a necessity because I lost a layer due to under greasing. Another tip to cool off the frosting is to refrigerate it so its easier to spread! Third time making this and will continue to do so!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States