Willard Family German Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lisa Bellamy
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
Many steps, but all were easy enough. Delicious and super moist. The cake was amazing, my son is already asking for another :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Bellamy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
This is very close to the original Baker's Chocolate German chocolate cake. You can't go wrong with this fabulous cake but I have to admit I like the original better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Photo by Catie's Confections
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
This was a labor intensive, but well worth it cake. it was moist and flavorful, I added 2 tanks cold coffee with the water, I think this added a nice note.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Excellent recipe. Like many of you, I read the reviews before I jump in and the three tips that helped made this cake a standout were 1) to make extra filling - I made one and a half times the recipe 2) toast the nuts and coconut first and 3)ice the sides with a chocolate frosting. Other than that, I followed the recipe except for using a lemon juice/milk substitute for buttermilk but made sure that I was using the correct type of chocolate- resulted in a very light sponge. The happy result was a deliciously lovely and huge birthday cake for my daughter who had wistfully requested a pecan pie wedged in a chocolate cake. She was delighted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I made this for a party and it turned out great! Followed the directions to a T except I did add a generous tablespoon of cocoa to the flour mixture. I separated the yolks and whites as called for and I think it adds a certain lightness to the cake. I always figured if it was good enough for grandma who am I to question? Baking takes time and if you don't have the time, make something else or buy it at the store. No need for snarky comments. I also used Tracy's creamy chocolate frosting on the sides to really make it sharp. Many thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Great taste, easy recipe. I can't wait to bake (and eat) this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Loved it. I made it for classmates and turned out brilliantly. Takes a long time to make, but very well worth it!! I didn't have three pans, as it turned out, so I used two instead, and that was awesome, because I got double the amount of frosting AND cake!!! I also added a little brown sugar and cinnamon to taste in the frosting too, which was nice, and added a few peach slices on top for decoration. :):):) You should surely try it. It was fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Savannah Helming

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
This is the best German Chocolate cake! - I agree with the other reviewers to double the frosting - I've made this several times and anytime I ask what cake I should make, this is always the request. This even works at high altitude with no changes. Making it today, at my husband's request, for his parents!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
It was okay for me. It's not very chocolately....I thought it would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marybcurlyq

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I've been using this Recipe since I was 8,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States