Willard Family German Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Great taste, easy recipe. I can't wait to bake (and eat) this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Loved it. I made it for classmates and turned out brilliantly. Takes a long time to make, but very well worth it!! I didn't have three pans, as it turned out, so I used two instead, and that was awesome, because I got double the amount of frosting AND cake!!! I also added a little brown sugar and cinnamon to taste in the frosting too, which was nice, and added a few peach slices on top for decoration. :):):) You should surely try it. It was fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Savannah Helming

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
This is the best German Chocolate cake! - I agree with the other reviewers to double the frosting - I've made this several times and anytime I ask what cake I should make, this is always the request. This even works at high altitude with no changes. Making it today, at my husband's request, for his parents!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
It was okay for me. It's not very chocolately....I thought it would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marybcurlyq

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I've been using this Recipe since I was 8,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
Way more work than what it is worth. Also there is a recipe inside the pkg of Baker's German Sweet Chocolate that is almost exactly the same and less tedious. I agree w/ other reviewers who say it is not chocolate enough. The one inside the candy bar's pkg tastes more chocolately, more than likely because they use 1/2 c less flour. They have you melt the chocolate in the butter instead of water (water dilutes, butter enhances). So there is a not the dilution of the water in the cake. Also in the pkg directions you don't have to separate the eggs and beat the egg whites stiff, just add the eggs. Candy bar's recipe tastes better and is less work. (To be honest, this is so close to the candy bar recipe it seems like a lightly modified knock-off.)They make it into cupcakes but just use cake pans instead. The frosting recipe is the same as this one too. I also agree that you have to do the frosting plus 1/2 to barely have enough to do a cake. The candy bar's package gives you more frosting for it does it as 1.5 of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I baked this cake and it turned out excellent my boyfriend loved it...I frosted the sides with almost professional frosting which is a recipe I found on here and it is great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tok, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
This was such a good cake. It is my step-moms favorite so me and my aunt made it for her birthday. Everyone loved it. I can't wait to make it again. My aunt says she will make it again herself. And i disagree with it not being chocolatey enough. It was more chocolatey than any other German chocolate cake I've ate. The frosting was really goo too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soccercook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Used my bourbon soaked nuts for around the outside. Was soooooo good! Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I have made this recipe for years. It was my husband's favorite and I made it every year for his Birthday. The original German Chocolate cake is only meant to use the frosting between the layers and on top. There is no frosting on the sides. The idea of putting chocolate frosting on the sides is fabulous. I have had it this way before and loved it. Either way it is a top notch cake for any occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by izzymae30

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States