Willard Family German Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lisa Bellamy
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
Many steps, but all were easy enough. Delicious and super moist. The cake was amazing, my son is already asking for another :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Bellamy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
This is very close to the original Baker's Chocolate German chocolate cake. You can't go wrong with this fabulous cake but I have to admit I like the original better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Photo by Catie's Confections
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
This was a labor intensive, but well worth it cake. it was moist and flavorful, I added 2 tanks cold coffee with the water, I think this added a nice note.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Excellent recipe. Like many of you, I read the reviews before I jump in and the three tips that helped made this cake a standout were 1) to make extra filling - I made one and a half times the recipe 2) toast the nuts and coconut first and 3)ice the sides with a chocolate frosting. Other than that, I followed the recipe except for using a lemon juice/milk substitute for buttermilk but made sure that I was using the correct type of chocolate- resulted in a very light sponge. The happy result was a deliciously lovely and huge birthday cake for my daughter who had wistfully requested a pecan pie wedged in a chocolate cake. She was delighted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I made this for a party and it turned out great! Followed the directions to a T except I did add a generous tablespoon of cocoa to the flour mixture. I separated the yolks and whites as called for and I think it adds a certain lightness to the cake. I always figured if it was good enough for grandma who am I to question? Baking takes time and if you don't have the time, make something else or buy it at the store. No need for snarky comments. I also used Tracy's creamy chocolate frosting on the sides to really make it sharp. Many thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Great taste, easy recipe. I can't wait to bake (and eat) this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Loved it. I made it for classmates and turned out brilliantly. Takes a long time to make, but very well worth it!! I didn't have three pans, as it turned out, so I used two instead, and that was awesome, because I got double the amount of frosting AND cake!!! I also added a little brown sugar and cinnamon to taste in the frosting too, which was nice, and added a few peach slices on top for decoration. :):):) You should surely try it. It was fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Savannah Helming

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
This is the best German Chocolate cake! - I agree with the other reviewers to double the frosting - I've made this several times and anytime I ask what cake I should make, this is always the request. This even works at high altitude with no changes. Making it today, at my husband's request, for his parents!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
It was okay for me. It's not very chocolately....I thought it would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marybcurlyq

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I've been using this Recipe since I was 8,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States