Wilderness Place Lodge Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
I work as a baker in a very busy cafe and this has become our most popular cookie. Thank you for this wonderful recipe!I always get a nice thick chewy cookie with consistent results everytime. I don't care for raisins, so i have never used them, but always add toffee bits instead for wonderful results. I am not understanding why some of you are getting a flat cookie, but what i do is just make sure i always use butter, make sure it is not too warm, and i never measure it out because 1 lb is 2 cups..no need to measure. I also always make sure to use a shiny aluminum sheet pan (which almost always gives the best results for cookie spreading),and i top it with parchment paper instead of greasing the sheet. I typically use a #40 scoop for reg size, or #20 for jumbo cookies. I Bake them just until set, and they are the perfect size and texture. HUGE seller. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2003
Okay, so I know this is my own recipe, but that makes me entitled to a review, right??? I had a friend who made these for Bunco one night, and she said she makes a batch of the dough, rolls it in saran and freezes it. Just slice and bake. There was absolutely no difference in flavor (I have had these so many times I'm definitely and expert...) and the texture was perfect. As another reviewer said, these cookies ROCK! I normally make them with heaping tablespoonfulls, so the cookies are very large, but if you want to freeze them, you can make the rolls of dough to be whatever size you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
Saw the recipe yesterday and made them this morning - GREAT COOKIES! I actually got 7 doz. cookies using a medium-sized cookie scoop that's probably equal to about 2 Tbsp. Will definitely make these often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2003
Outstanding cookie! Just be sure to heavily grease the cookie sheets. I lightly greased one cookie sheet and the cookies stuck, so I heavily greased the other cookie sheets with much better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
OH MY!! This is one of the very best cookies I've ever tasted! I did use dried cranberries instead of raisins and 1/2 butter - 1/2 shortening and old fashioned oats. YUMMY!!! A+++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DeniseM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA
Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This is a very good cookie, not a great cookie. It is basically the recipe on the oats box doubled with an extra cup of white sugar, coconut, nuts and chips added. I found them greasy, too heavy with butter. I made them huge--3.5 oz of dough rolled into balls. They were even better when I put the extra dough in the fridge and cooked them a day later without letting them come up to room temp. They set up thicker this way looked and tasted much better. I do this with cc cookies too--cook them after 24 to 36 hrs in the fridge, makes a world of diff in the cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
Very good crunchy cookie. Has all the ingredients of my favorite cookies so who wouldn't love them. Followed the directions exactly and they came out perfect. Will be sure to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
These cookies are absolutely the BEST! I followed the recipe exactly except that I halved everything and the cookies are perfect. I did plump the raisins in hot water for about 15 minutes while I was assembling the other ingredients but otherwise did nothing else different. Baked them for 11 minutes and they are beautifully soft and chewy! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
I made half a recipe which yielded about 3 dozen cookies. They are so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
These cookies are the BEST! Don't be fooled by the amount of cookies the recipe makes, they just seem to fly out of the cookie tins. I made the original using a cookie scoop. Love that you can also make a fridge rolls; make one day then bake when you need. This one is a wonderful keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Kitchen Sink Cookies

If you love your cookies loaded up with everything, here’s the cookie for you!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States