Wilderness Place Lodge Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
This is an awesome cookie. I halved the recipe and it still made 50 'normal-sized' cookies. I followed the recipe as is with the exception of throwing in half again as many chocolate chips (a compromise for my husband who wanted plain chocolate chip cookies). I used a stone baking pan and cooked for 12 mins. Every cookie came out perfect. Thanks for sharing this recipe. It will definitely be a staple in my cookie repetoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: River Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
These were good, but not thick like I had hoped. I did use 1/2 crisco and 1/2 butter. Next time I might try all Crisco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
I found that using 1 c. Crisco and 1 c. butter worked better. The second time I made these, I froze an 8" square pan of the dough for later use. It made some wonderful, chewy 'brownies'. Be sure to toast the walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
We originally wanted to half the recipe, but made a mistake and ended up doing the whole thing! We got exactly 60 cookies. We were horrified at the amount of oats used, but it came out relatively well. Be sure to press the cookies flat because unlike other cookie dough, these will not spread and flatten by themselves. The taste is comparable to those we can buy at the market, but nothing spectacular. They aren't that good cold, so it's a good idea to undercook a minute or two so that you can put it in the oven and toast on the lowest setting just before serving. Also, they are so filling that one cookie is enough to make you not hungry for a few hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
Great cookies! The only changes I made were to used toasted pecans instead of walnuts and I used Toll House peanut butter/milk chocolate chips. I also followed others suggestion to half the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
Yum. I also used half butter-flavored Crisco and half butter. Toasted the walnuts until they started to smell soooo good. Used old fashioned oats because I like them better. Otherwise used the recipe exactly as is, and the cookies are DELICIOUS. I'm not a huge fan of plain chocolate chip cookies, so these will now be my standard cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
Delicious. I used 1/2 cup butter and 1/2 cup butter flavored crisco, and omitted the nuts. We loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
The best! Omitted the walnuts and baked them on parchment for more like 13 minutes then let them cool on the cookie sheets about 5 minutes before sliding them off. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
These cookies turned out perfectly. It definetly makes more than 60 cookies stated in the recipe! I got 80 cookies, and that was using a large cookie scoop that holds 2 Tbsp. of this cookie dough! I'm not complaining though, 'cause these are delish! There is plenty to share with others! Thanks Kim! :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
A+++++ wow!!! These are amazing! Followed the recipe to a tee, and made sure to toast walnuts in a pan (dry) med heat for 2-3 minutes (cool completely), also let raisins sit in warm water for 5 minutes, then drained (to plump). I was generous on chocolate chips,walnuts, and coconut.Placed on very well greased pan in tablespoons and cooked for about 15-17 minutes.The best cookie I have had in a long time! Definitely worth trying!Make sure to half the recipe by typing in 30 servings at the bottom of page. It made about 4 dozen 3 inch cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNRAY9177

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Kitchen Sink Cookies

If you love your cookies loaded up with everything, here’s the cookie for you!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States