Wild Rice Turkey Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
I needed a quick meal to throw together with on-hand ingredients, and this dish fit the bill. Not gourmet fare, but a good, simple, tasty meal. No water chestnuts in my pantry, so I sauteed some celery and onions. Otherwise, I prepared it according to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCKim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
A little too salty for my taste. Otherwise, it was a great, and homey recipe. Hit the spot on a cold, rainy spring morning. I think I would sub some of the soy in order to lower the sodium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Good dish! I substituted celery for the water chestnuts and a broccoli/cheddar soup for the cream of chicken soup. The whole family enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
keeper. even my teenagers liked it. added uncooked broccoli slaw (premade from grocery) and chopped celery that worked nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This is one of my favorite recipes for all that leftover turkey during the holidays. After deboning the turkey, I dice all the meat not fit for sandwiches and package it into freezer baggies. The rest of the ingredients are shelf stable (I don't like or use onions) so I always have a back up casserole ready to be made. Be careful with the soy sauce - you might want to try less than 3T, it can get salty. BTW the long grain and wild rice is by the Rice-a-Roni. Uncle Ben makes it. Good Luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Thank you for this recipe! It was my last turkey dish of Thanksgiving week and it was just wonderful. I barely had any leftovers! I used cream of chicken AND mushroom soup, 1 cup each of frozen peas and corn, 1/2 cup fresh parsley, a lot of wild rice and some leftover white. I did omit the soy and chestnuts (hubby isn't fond of water chestnuts). On top I used sour cream mashed potatoes. So comforting, tasty and it will be a new fave in our house! Thanks Jane!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AllyD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laguna Niguel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
So, So good. Simmered 1 cup wild rice blend in 2 cups chicken broth 50+min. in place of box rice (didn't have any) Added 1 stalk celery, 4 chopped baby carrots, 1/3 cup chopped onion, 1 small can mushrooms (all sauteed in 4 TBSP butter) and 1 cup steamed broccoli. Omitted water chestnuts. Also threw in a large 'pinch' of shredded monterey jack. Upped the water to 1 cup. Baked, covered loosely with foil 30 minutes, uncovered and baked another 15 min. For the topping I used 1 cup plain bread crumbs + 1/3 cup Italian bread crumbs mixed with 4 tbsp melted butter & a little shredded cheddar. Baked for another 10 minutes. Delish! Aside from Sheppard's pie-the best way to use Thanksgiving leftovers! And very versatile--use whatever veggies you like, or none! :D Will make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hutchinson, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I used Zataran's Wild Rice and Long Rice Mix which comes seasoned; was extremely tasty! I think I will add less water maybe only 1/3 cup next time because it was a little wet; although this evaporated as the dish sat. It could have been because I baked it with a cover. I also opted to leave off the bread crumb/butter mixture as I am trying to limit my calorie intake. I took this to a church potluck and had several positive comments on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hinsdale, Illinois, USA
Living In: Princeton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I thought this was just o.k. It was a little bland. I think that if I make this again, I'll use Italian bread crumbs, as some others mentioned, and perhaps add some Italian seasoning or something to the rice/turkey mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Great base recipe, so versatile. I just used what I had, some broccoli, mushrooms, and wild turkey I shot in the spring and a little more onion. I just put in what my family liked, I completely forgot the soy sauce and it was still fantastic, I will try the soy sauce next time. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States