Wild Rice Turkey Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
I needed a quick meal to throw together with on-hand ingredients, and this dish fit the bill. Not gourmet fare, but a good, simple, tasty meal. No water chestnuts in my pantry, so I sauteed some celery and onions. Otherwise, I prepared it according to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCKim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
A little too salty for my taste. Otherwise, it was a great, and homey recipe. Hit the spot on a cold, rainy spring morning. I think I would sub some of the soy in order to lower the sodium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Good dish! I substituted celery for the water chestnuts and a broccoli/cheddar soup for the cream of chicken soup. The whole family enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
keeper. even my teenagers liked it. added uncooked broccoli slaw (premade from grocery) and chopped celery that worked nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This is one of my favorite recipes for all that leftover turkey during the holidays. After deboning the turkey, I dice all the meat not fit for sandwiches and package it into freezer baggies. The rest of the ingredients are shelf stable (I don't like or use onions) so I always have a back up casserole ready to be made. Be careful with the soy sauce - you might want to try less than 3T, it can get salty. BTW the long grain and wild rice is by the Rice-a-Roni. Uncle Ben makes it. Good Luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Thank you for this recipe! It was my last turkey dish of Thanksgiving week and it was just wonderful. I barely had any leftovers! I used cream of chicken AND mushroom soup, 1 cup each of frozen peas and corn, 1/2 cup fresh parsley, a lot of wild rice and some leftover white. I did omit the soy and chestnuts (hubby isn't fond of water chestnuts). On top I used sour cream mashed potatoes. So comforting, tasty and it will be a new fave in our house! Thanks Jane!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AllyD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laguna Niguel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
So, So good. Simmered 1 cup wild rice blend in 2 cups chicken broth 50+min. in place of box rice (didn't have any) Added 1 stalk celery, 4 chopped baby carrots, 1/3 cup chopped onion, 1 small can mushrooms (all sauteed in 4 TBSP butter) and 1 cup steamed broccoli. Omitted water chestnuts. Also threw in a large 'pinch' of shredded monterey jack. Upped the water to 1 cup. Baked, covered loosely with foil 30 minutes, uncovered and baked another 15 min. For the topping I used 1 cup plain bread crumbs + 1/3 cup Italian bread crumbs mixed with 4 tbsp melted butter & a little shredded cheddar. Baked for another 10 minutes. Delish! Aside from Sheppard's pie-the best way to use Thanksgiving leftovers! And very versatile--use whatever veggies you like, or none! :D Will make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hutchinson, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I used Zataran's Wild Rice and Long Rice Mix which comes seasoned; was extremely tasty! I think I will add less water maybe only 1/3 cup next time because it was a little wet; although this evaporated as the dish sat. It could have been because I baked it with a cover. I also opted to leave off the bread crumb/butter mixture as I am trying to limit my calorie intake. I took this to a church potluck and had several positive comments on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hinsdale, Illinois, USA
Living In: Princeton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I thought this was just o.k. It was a little bland. I think that if I make this again, I'll use Italian bread crumbs, as some others mentioned, and perhaps add some Italian seasoning or something to the rice/turkey mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Great base recipe, so versatile. I just used what I had, some broccoli, mushrooms, and wild turkey I shot in the spring and a little more onion. I just put in what my family liked, I completely forgot the soy sauce and it was still fantastic, I will try the soy sauce next time. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States