Wild Rice Stuffing for Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
I added 12 ounces of seasoned sausage, 3/4 cup dried cranberries, 1 onion, and 1 apple peeled and chopped and it was really well liked by everyone. You could add any or all of the above ingredients and it would improve the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethel Park, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Templeton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
My husband and I are not stuffing fans, but the search for good stuffing recipe has now ended. This is a wonderful recipe and we loved it. I had to make it again 2 days after thanksgiving because we still had most of our other leftovers and the family requested more. I did make little bit of changes by adding some cooked breakfast sausage and bacon and I also used mixed rice (wild, red, brown, and white) I couldn't find just plain wild rice. I did omit one bouillon cube so it is not too salty. Homemade croutons also makes it really good, but not necessary. You can just buy the croutons in the store. Wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
Hi, I have tasted wild rice stuffings before and liked each of them. This year my daughter took on the task of making Thanksgiving Dinner for 32 {with me doing most of the prep work...she's no cook...ha ha} for her own large family and her soon to be in-laws. I made this stuffing and it was a raving success. The only thing I changed was instead of using Boullion, I used broth from a box. It was great!! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
This recipe has serious potential. I followed the recipe exactly and found it to be salty even though I used low sodium broth instead of boullion. This could be due to baking it in a dish and not in the bird (sorry, I know waaaayyyy too much about microbiology to put my stuffing into the bird). I think the saltiness was due to the croutons I used. Next time, I will use packaged dry bread cubes instead. Also, I think the addition of italian sausage would be great, as well as some red bell pepper for more color. I loved the nutty taste and texture of the wild rice with the soft bread of the croutons. Thanks for the great idea! I'll be playing with the recipe over the next few years to create a fabulous Thanksgiving side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lydia
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
This was hands down the best stuffing I have ever had. I love wild rice so maybe that is why. My only suggestion would be to cook the wild rice until it busts through the black skin. I cooked 25 minutes but it was a bit too chewy, but at the same time, sooo very tasty. I think the seasoned crutons is very mucgh a secret to incredible stuffing. I will use this recipe every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lydia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Rocklin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I am also from MN and love wild rice but had never cooked it. Not knowing what to expect I followed the recipie exactly. The wild rice was not even close to being cooked in the time specified. Now I had very dark wild rice which I'm learning takes longer to cook. So needless to say, it turned out terrible but the flavor was good in spite of completely uncooked rice. I plan on making this again and hope to give it a great rating like everyone else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
I used half the butter and it still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Greve, Sjælland, Denmark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Doesn't taste like anything. Dry and lacks flavor. After cooking as directed, I spent an hour or so trying to make it edible for Thanksgiving side dish. Added tons more herbs and spices, dried fruit, nuts, chicken broth, and more but it took so much work I don't remember it all anymore. Too much trouble, need a recipe that already works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Raves all 'round. Was told this was the best stuffing all of my guests had ever had. Only change was to add some red bell pepper in with the green for color. Thank you so much for this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Evanston, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
Great flavor! If you are a fan of wild rice, you should definitely try it. This recipe worked perfectly for my 12.9 lb turkey. I omitted the green peppers (because I didn't have any) and next time I may add some more croutons and broth for a more "bready" texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShopCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Basehor, Kansas, USA
Living In: Linwood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States