Wild Rice Stuffed Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Great combination.... I love wild rice and this recipe really makes a nice dish with excellent presentation... I didn't have the wild rice blend mix so I used 1 cup brown rice and 1/2 cup wild rice, added two tablespoons parsley, a teaspoon, a half of lawries seasoning salt, and a shake or two of black pepper and italian herbs.. then cooked it for 40 minutes in 3 1/2 cups chicken broth. It turned out great.... thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
This is the BEST stuffed squash recipe in my opinion. I always add a chub of ground pork sausage to mine as well. The flavor combo is fantastic! Also, adding the sausage allows you to have more filling, which means you can make more stuffed squash...or just eat the leftover filling on it's own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wyldfan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I really liked this recipe! The presentation was beautiful and the wild rice mixture tastes great even on its own. I only used 2 acorn squash and that worked for the entire wild rice mixture (perhaps my squash were large, not medium). I didn't alter the recipe in any other way. I agree w/ another reviewer that it is very important to tightly seal the squash w/ the foil in the oven. One of mine (I had to make it in batches) did not cook completely because the foil was slightly open. It was a very filling recipe (a main dish not a side dish, in my opinion!). I took off one star because I thought the taste of the squash with the rice mixture was a bit odd. I can't describe it, just too many strong flavors for me. I would make this again, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
would be better with cornbread dressing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This was a good option for our vegetarian Thanksgiving dinner, but it was just missing something... I think I'll double (or maybe even triple) the pecans next time to give it a heartier feel as a main course. **It was better today once the flavors infused with the squash a little more. We'll definitely make this again, but I think we'll continue to experiment with adding different spices. (I don't think fake meat crumbles or tofu are really necessary and would ruin the fresh taste.) I just think it needs a little something extra to give it 5 stars...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Oh my! I make this every year for Thanksgiving. I lost all my recipes from the computer and am so happy I found it again! I follow this recipe except for the package of rice. I just use brown rice. Wild rice is a little gamey for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
This just isn't my cup of tea. I don't think the flavors melded well together. We also think the foil over top gave it a metalic flavor, so I'd try it in a dutch oven if you have one. Sorry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I loved it. Will definitely make it again, even though my daughter and husband don't ever care for squash. I used cashews instead of pecans and Craisins instead of fresh cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I loved this! Served mine with a rotesserie chicken and baked sweet potatoes. Even my son who doesnt like acorn squash devoured everything! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Millbury, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Delicious. I added oregano and rosemary, but other than that didn't change anything. Served with potato leek soup. Great fall meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States