Wild Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Honestly I completely did my own thing; I give it a 5 star rating because of the concept of stuffing the squash. I’ve made two different stuffings for these and they both came out great. I love using leftovers to create new meals, I don’t like to waste. The first stuffing I made was with brown rice, finely chopped mushrooms, some onion; I also threw in some leftover lean pork cooked with fresh garlic. I had some extra beef broth so I used that and some regular stuffing mix I also had left over. Make sure your stuffing has a strong flavor; the acorn squash itself has a light flavor to it. The second stuffing which I made last night- I used brown rice again, sautéed onion and left over turkey meatballs, I used a cheese grater to grate them, beef broth and stuffing mix. I wasn’t too crazy about the flavor at first so I added, garlic powder, salt and pepper, teaspoon of butter and a little milk. I don’t measure much when I do my little creations, so I wouldn’t recommend this unless you cook the same way. Constantly taste before adding new things! Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bronxville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
The following day I scooped out the stuffing and added sauteed sausage and feta cheese. Very tasty. I guess that for us any vegetarian recipe benefits with the addition of a little meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Very good - the directions are definitely backwards - 1) start the rice first (I added celery and carrot), 2) then do the stuffing (on the stove top), 3) then bake the squash. I think the squash needed a salt rub before baking - it was pretty bland. My kids weren't big fans of the squash, so next time I will not stuff them, but cut them into cubes and toss them in with the stuffing and rice before baking. I ended up making only 2 squash, and did the full stuffing/rice recipe, and the extra stuffing filled up a pie pan nicely, and gave the kids a better stuffing to squash ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Not a hit, but worth the try, we prefer the sweeter versions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
This was a really great idea, but they would taste much better with homemade stuffing... it lacked flavor with the box. Also, this recipe made more than enough stuffing for the squash... I froze a whole tupperware full of the stuffing that was left over . We really love stuffing and squash both; it just didn't work with store bought box stuff. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Great dish! I made this dish for my vegan mom and she really liked it. I added dried cranberries, which turned the dish a little too sweet than I would've liked, but overall I got positive reviews. I think I overcooked the rice and stuffing mix because the texture turned out to be close to that of mashed potatoes. Also, you don't have to use the packaged stuffing. If you make your own stuffing, you can use that instead, because it's difficult to find packaged stuffing that is vegetarian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Nice flavor, but a little dry...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
My husband LOVED this!!! The stuffing was amazing. I bought all ingredients from Trader Joes. Now the stuffing is the one I go to for Thanksgiving! Its delicious on its own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This recipe is fantastic. I ignored the order of the instructions as indicated in other reviews which was helpful. I made the rice and stuffing individually using broth instead of water. I sauteed shallots, garlic, green apples, celery and mushrooms in olive oil and then combined this mixture with dried cranberries, pecans, the rice and stuffing. I topped the stuffed squash with French's onions and grated parmesan which browned nicely. This recipe was flavorful, filling and tastes wonderfully of Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I added vegetarian sausage to this dish to make is a main course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States