Wild Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Dry, add something like apples for moisture. Also, cooking time for squash needs to be increased and cook stuffing first. Tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I improvised some, but this was a fantastic meal! I had to cook the squash about 10 min longer than the recipe indicated in both places. I don't care for mushrooms, I didn't have any sage, and I only had chicken stock, so those were all left out/subsituted. I used an Uncle Ben's wild rice mix (one small box) since there weren't any bags of it in my neighborhood store, but it was great anyway! As another reviewer suggessted, I added dried cranberries, which was absolutely perfect. Not to mention being tasty, it is healthy and filling. Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
If you are veg, try and give this dish moisture by adding sliced apple. Ooooh so yum. I am not veg, but I add apple suasage slices to this. Again for the meat eaters out there, YUMMY. The sausage and apple go nicely with the wild rice. A little brown sugar and "REAL" butter are the key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geigertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
LOVE this recipe!! I make it ALL the time and still continue to love it. It is so easy to change up too. I like to use quinoa and cut up chunks of butternut squash in it instead of acorn squash. It's a go to recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
It is delicious! Easy to cook, looks great on the table. My guests were impressed! A perfect vegetarian dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I made this vegetarian entree for Thanksgiving. Me and my husband loved it so much that I made it for Christmas. A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by starritha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Honestly I completely did my own thing; I give it a 5 star rating because of the concept of stuffing the squash. I’ve made two different stuffings for these and they both came out great. I love using leftovers to create new meals, I don’t like to waste. The first stuffing I made was with brown rice, finely chopped mushrooms, some onion; I also threw in some leftover lean pork cooked with fresh garlic. I had some extra beef broth so I used that and some regular stuffing mix I also had left over. Make sure your stuffing has a strong flavor; the acorn squash itself has a light flavor to it. The second stuffing which I made last night- I used brown rice again, sautéed onion and left over turkey meatballs, I used a cheese grater to grate them, beef broth and stuffing mix. I wasn’t too crazy about the flavor at first so I added, garlic powder, salt and pepper, teaspoon of butter and a little milk. I don’t measure much when I do my little creations, so I wouldn’t recommend this unless you cook the same way. Constantly taste before adding new things! Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bronxville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
The following day I scooped out the stuffing and added sauteed sausage and feta cheese. Very tasty. I guess that for us any vegetarian recipe benefits with the addition of a little meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Very good - the directions are definitely backwards - 1) start the rice first (I added celery and carrot), 2) then do the stuffing (on the stove top), 3) then bake the squash. I think the squash needed a salt rub before baking - it was pretty bland. My kids weren't big fans of the squash, so next time I will not stuff them, but cut them into cubes and toss them in with the stuffing and rice before baking. I ended up making only 2 squash, and did the full stuffing/rice recipe, and the extra stuffing filled up a pie pan nicely, and gave the kids a better stuffing to squash ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Not a hit, but worth the try, we prefer the sweeter versions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States