Wild Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Good as a side dish. 1/4 squash was the perfect amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Not a fan. Just didn't taste very good in our opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Delicious! It's nice to find some meatless recipes that don't rely on tons of cheese for all their flavor. I eliminated about half the butter from the stuffing mix, and didn't miss it. You can speed up cooking the squash by starting it in the microwave. I had a lot of extra stuffing mix that didn't fit into the squash but it's so tasty I won't have any trouble using it up as a lunch or side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
A great recipe and one I modified to make quicker by using Rice-A-Roni wild rice. The vegitarians in the family loved it. The only problem I could see is a whole half of squash is a very large portion, especially for a child, so we cut ours in quarters after we stuffed them, but the next time we will cube up the squash and serve it in individual dishes as others have suggested. I do not like squash, but from the raves I got, everyone else does! A very happy cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by graciemarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
These babies got GOBBLED UP on Thanksgiving! I did add dried cranberries, but otherwise made as-is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennawattenbarger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
YUM! This taste like Thanksgiving and love. Absolute new favorite comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Really yum! I tried replacing cornbread stuffing, rice and omitting mushrooms with all herbed stuffing mix and chunks of white meat chicken (like Thanksgiving). Serve with homemade cranberry sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I made this recipe as is. I personally had no trouble making in the order as written. The stuffing was very moist. I can comment I would bake the squash longer. Considering squash comes in all shapes and sizes, this was not enough time for mine to be "right". Maybe another 30 minutes on top of the stated time. I used plain wild rice (didn't have mix on hand) and yes I did have extra stuffing, but not a lot. It is more on the savory side. Next time, I would add "fake" sausage (for a veggie meal) and maybe dried cherries. But that is a different recipe for another time. Pretty good over all. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Groton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This was just ok. No one really ate it. I enjoyed the filling but the squash was dry and tasteless. I did have to substitute another type of squash since acorns aren't in season yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Made this dish several times with and with out meat. I use bulk sausage. It always is a hit in my family. Never has turned out dry and others have stated. Thanks for your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robtandlinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Stuffed Butternut Squash

Baked squash are stuffed with Brussels sprouts, carrots, beans, and rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States