Wild Rice Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
Excellent and easy. A very thick and hearty soup. Great with homemade bread. I used a box of Uncle Bens Wild Rice and found that at the end I had to add one more can of chicken broth. It soaked up all the moisture. No problem,it was a quick fix and it solved the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
I really enjoyed this recipe and it's quite easy to make. The only change I made, based on other reviews, was to a tbsp of chicken bouillon soup base. It added a bit more flavor and salt. I also included quite a bit of salt. It's very hearty, almost a stew so I may add more chicken stock/milk next time. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurencelle
Home Town: La Broquerie, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: St. Adolphe, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Trick to this soup is using uncle Ben's original 23 herbs and spices Wild Rice WITH the spice packet. You don't need salt if you use this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2002
Loved this soup. Kept it in a crock pot 1/2 day while my friends and I baked cookies. We all had coffee cups of wild rice soup throughout the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2000
I make soup all the time and this is the definitely the BEST! I made it a few weeks ago and everyone is still talking about how good it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
This soup was delicious. I made it with homemade chicken broth, added corionder, cumin, and broccoli. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
I mixed up dough in my bread machine and served this delicious recipe in homemade breadbowls. It was the perfect meal for a cold night. I doubled the recipe and my husband ate it for nearly every meal for three days. He then complained I had not made more. The only downside was that it required quite a bit of salt to bring out the flavor. Even so, definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
This was great. I used shallots in place of the onion and I think next time I will leave out the celery (personal preference). Used half of a rotissere chicken and uncle ben's wild rice mix. You can get everything else together while the rice is cooking. Very quick and delicious, everyone at dinner loved it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2000
I made this for my church group of 25 women last week. They're still raving about it and all want the recipe. I told them where to find it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
This was delicious and tasted very much like the wild rice soup you get in restaurants (I hate the canned versions). I added some carrots and 1 tbsp of chicken bouillon for some extra goodness. It was a bit thick and started off a little bland, so in accordance to the other reviews, I'll be adding more milk and salt the next time I make it. It's very easy to make even for a novice mac-and-cheese cook like me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danny

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States