Wild Rice Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
This was delicious and tasted very much like the wild rice soup you get in restaurants (I hate the canned versions). I added some carrots and 1 tbsp of chicken bouillon for some extra goodness. It was a bit thick and started off a little bland, so in accordance to the other reviews, I'll be adding more milk and salt the next time I make it. It's very easy to make even for a novice mac-and-cheese cook like me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danny

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
half an onion, plain wild rice without flavoring and more by the receipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
I mixed up dough in my bread machine and served this delicious recipe in homemade breadbowls. It was the perfect meal for a cold night. I doubled the recipe and my husband ate it for nearly every meal for three days. He then complained I had not made more. The only downside was that it required quite a bit of salt to bring out the flavor. Even so, definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
I really enjoyed this recipe and it's quite easy to make. The only change I made, based on other reviews, was to a tbsp of chicken bouillon soup base. It added a bit more flavor and salt. I also included quite a bit of salt. It's very hearty, almost a stew so I may add more chicken stock/milk next time. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurencelle
Home Town: La Broquerie, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: St. Adolphe, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
I liked this soup, but needed to add quite a bit of salt for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANIELLE BEATTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
This really had no taste to it at all. It's only semi-creamy and I don't understand the point of the rice if all you will do is pour the liquid over it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRCLAIR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sidon, South, Lebanon
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
Great recipe, and this soup is even more delicious the next day. We all enjoyed this; thank you for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
I was skeptical while making this b/c it didn't look impressive - but it tastes so wonderful. If you use quick cooking wild rice, be sure to add extra stock to the final soup b/c the rice absorbs so much liquid. Fantastic with salad and buttered bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
I was not impressed with the flavor. Even after added carrots, parsley, sage, and LOTS of salt, it was nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
Excellent and easy. A very thick and hearty soup. Great with homemade bread. I used a box of Uncle Bens Wild Rice and found that at the end I had to add one more can of chicken broth. It soaked up all the moisture. No problem,it was a quick fix and it solved the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States