Wild Rice Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
This was delicious and tasted very much like the wild rice soup you get in restaurants (I hate the canned versions). I added some carrots and 1 tbsp of chicken bouillon for some extra goodness. It was a bit thick and started off a little bland, so in accordance to the other reviews, I'll be adding more milk and salt the next time I make it. It's very easy to make even for a novice mac-and-cheese cook like me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danny

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
half an onion, plain wild rice without flavoring and more by the receipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
I mixed up dough in my bread machine and served this delicious recipe in homemade breadbowls. It was the perfect meal for a cold night. I doubled the recipe and my husband ate it for nearly every meal for three days. He then complained I had not made more. The only downside was that it required quite a bit of salt to bring out the flavor. Even so, definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
I really enjoyed this recipe and it's quite easy to make. The only change I made, based on other reviews, was to a tbsp of chicken bouillon soup base. It added a bit more flavor and salt. I also included quite a bit of salt. It's very hearty, almost a stew so I may add more chicken stock/milk next time. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurencelle
Home Town: La Broquerie, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: St. Adolphe, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
I liked this soup, but needed to add quite a bit of salt for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANIELLE BEATTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
This really had no taste to it at all. It's only semi-creamy and I don't understand the point of the rice if all you will do is pour the liquid over it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRCLAIR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sidon, South, Lebanon
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
Great recipe, and this soup is even more delicious the next day. We all enjoyed this; thank you for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
I was skeptical while making this b/c it didn't look impressive - but it tastes so wonderful. If you use quick cooking wild rice, be sure to add extra stock to the final soup b/c the rice absorbs so much liquid. Fantastic with salad and buttered bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
I was not impressed with the flavor. Even after added carrots, parsley, sage, and LOTS of salt, it was nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
Excellent and easy. A very thick and hearty soup. Great with homemade bread. I used a box of Uncle Bens Wild Rice and found that at the end I had to add one more can of chicken broth. It soaked up all the moisture. No problem,it was a quick fix and it solved the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States