Wild Rice Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Yummy! I followed the advice of another reviewer and cut the butter in half, and replaced half of the half-n-half with milk. I realized too late I had no celery, so I used celery seed instead. Added a bit of garlic powder, a little extra rosemary, and I served it with a handful of shredded mozzarella in the bowl. I would definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
It was ok the first time...the second time I ramped things up a bit. I added fresh garlic after the veggies had cooked a bit. I also added a lot of black pepper and a bay leaf. I couldn't in good conscience add 1/2 cup of margarine so I added a few tbsp of butter and mixed it in the full amount of flour (no one missed it). Everyone loved it with the modifications. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This soup turned out amazing. I added some turkey left over from thanksgiving. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Lilly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
So awesome! I just fixed this for my husband on a cold, rainy night & it warmed us right up! I made a few alterations: used fat free half/half, cut up some chicken tenderloins and placed them in the pot with the cooking rice, used chicken broth to boil rice instead of water, and cut the butter in half. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BirminghamBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I added lots more wild rice and also added some pepper, thyme, & parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINGER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
soup was smooth and lite. Will try adding cooked shredded chicken to make a complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
This soup was delicious! I followed the recipe with just a few changes. I used 1 cup wild rice. Instead of water, I cooked the wild rice in chicken broth. I only used a 1/4 cup margarine as suggested by another review. I used an extra cup of chicken broth. I also added a 1/2 teaspoon of the following: parsley, thyme, pepper and red pepper flakes. Turned out great and will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I made a few changes based on other reviews. Added more rice & chicken, used less butter. 1/2 tsp of parsley 1/2 tsp of thyme, used fat free half-n-half & two stalks of celery and two carrots, only half of a small white onion & some black pepper. It was fantastic!! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This soup was excellent. I made it for a Superbowl party and everyone had seconds plus wanted some to take home. Highly recommend. I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States