Wild Rice Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
Excellent and easy. I substituted chicken stock for the water and used FAT FREE 1/2 and 1/2 with about 2TBL fresh rosemary. Next time, I'm adding chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2000
I had been looking for a good wild rice soup recipe and this one is excellent. You can also use fresh rosemary which works really well also.virginia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2000
This soup is the best soup my family has EVER tasted! We make it again and again! It is a meal in itself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2001
A wonderful soup and very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union City, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2001
This soup is FABULOUS! A little more work than some - but well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2001
My husband can't wait to invite his parents over to show off this recipe. He thought this was the best soup he has ever had. I did modify it a little bit by using a can of evaporated milk instead of the cream, plus I added a little thyme. Very good! A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
This to me is the ultimate "comfort soup"...very rich and creamy. The rosemary is the key to the wonderful aroma of this soup. I have made this many, many times and never used to be a big fan of wild rice, but now I am! I personally changed the recipe by cutting the butter quantity in half (otherwise a lot of the butter ends up floating on the top) and I use 2% and skim milk instead of cream and also I love to add a small can of mushrooms (finely chopped). If you like creamy soups like "cream of broccoli", you will like this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
This soup was awesome!! I modified it by adding increasing the rice and vegetables and added chopped fresh mushrooms. I reduced the half-and-half and substituted 2% milk and some flour to thicken it just a bit. The family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
I LOVE this recipe and have made it several times this fall since discovering it. I tried it "as is" and then made it healthier (couldn't tell the difference) by using 2T butter and fat free half and half. I also added 2-3 cups chopped turkey or chicken, 1/2 tsp crushed dried thyme, 1/2 tsp. crushed dried parsley, fresh ground pepper. Everyone raves when I make this and I've shared the recipe with several people already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
I just love this fast and easy soup! I served it with tuna salad sandwiches and it was all gone in a flash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Beesley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States