Wild Rice Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Oh my gosh, this was great! My first review after using so many recipes from here - but I just had to, it was just that good! Doubled the carrots and celery, used butter instead of margarine or oil, added 1/3 cup of white rice as well and used cream instead of half and half. SO tasty!!! I've been dreaming of a great creamy wild rice soup since I had one many years ago at a deli across from where I worked. This exceeded my hopes. I will make again and again! Thanks for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
This was so delicious and easy!! I added some thanksgiving turkey that was left over and yum. The entire family loved it and my hubby asked me if I had made this from a mix I had hidden away. It tasted very high end. I will add garlic next time and small chunks of potatoes, but that's it. The base is flexible and so so good; thanks for posting!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I was excited to find a Wild Rice soup recipe that was super easy but did not have condensed soup in it. The soup had really nice flavor and was a terrific consistency, but I have to give it low marks for only having 1/3 c of wild rice in it. I made it on Christmas Eve and after seeing how little rice there was (less than the supporting vegetables by quite a bit) and realizing that most wild rice soup recipes have a 1:4 ratio of rice to water I thought I must have written it down wrong, and we waited another 45 mintues for dinner so I could make a cup of wild rice to add to it. Then it was perfect. Since the wild rice is the whole point of the dish, I can't rate it higher than just okay with a 1/3 cup measurement, although everything else about it was terrific, and I am sure I will make it again and again with that one adjustment. I love fresh rosemary and think I may try throwing a couple of fresh rosemary sprigs in the rice while it cooks and see what kind of flavor it yields over dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shans1622
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Very good did add some chicken though to make it a complete meal for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hallock, Minnesota, USA
Living In: New Rockford, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I made this recipe 3 times already, and I don't tire of it! The first time I made it, I followed the indications to the letter. I found that there is too much margarine/butter used for the amount of vegetables. 2 table spoons at most would be fine, or even substitute with olive oil. And I thought that there wasn't enough broth. So adding a cup or two of broth would also help. Thus the 4 stars instead of 5. But if I could, I'd give 4.5 stars. ;) The 2nd time I made it, I added chicken to the soup, and found that it brings a good soup to a great level. But I thought it was still missing something. So the 3rd time I made it, I added mushrooms. From great to awesome it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GabZ1985

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
we felt it lacked a bit of flavor...and the rice was a bit too firm for my liking...the element of chicken was missing and will be added next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dumbee cooks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Eveleth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cloquet, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Yummy! I followed the advice of another reviewer and cut the butter in half, and replaced half of the half-n-half with milk. I realized too late I had no celery, so I used celery seed instead. Added a bit of garlic powder, a little extra rosemary, and I served it with a handful of shredded mozzarella in the bowl. I would definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
It was ok the first time...the second time I ramped things up a bit. I added fresh garlic after the veggies had cooked a bit. I also added a lot of black pepper and a bay leaf. I couldn't in good conscience add 1/2 cup of margarine so I added a few tbsp of butter and mixed it in the full amount of flour (no one missed it). Everyone loved it with the modifications. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This soup turned out amazing. I added some turkey left over from thanksgiving. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Lilly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States