Wild Rice Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
Excellent and so easy. No changes needed, reminds me of the chicken and wild rice soup at Panera.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
This recipe was restaurant quality. I thought it had terrific flavor. I used water & boulion for the broth. If you do that, be careful it doesn't get too salty. Everyone older than 10 loved this. My 3 younger ones did not like chewing the wild rice. I will make this again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Contrary to many other reviews I did not need to add any seasoning save for a little pepper and a tiny pinch each of dired thyme and tarragon. The flavours of the vegetables came through beautifully and the wild rice adds an earthy nutty flavour. I'm not sure if the fact that I am Eurpoean (we don't add a lot of seasoning to our food) had an impact or not, but my husbund, who is American (thought he did spend 5 years on Europe and has been eating my food for 4 years) loved it too. I cut down the heavy cream to 1/4 cup and made up the rest with milk. I also replaced most of the cooking fat with olive oil and just a tiny amount of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
I thawed a chicken breast most of the way, cut it up, and just threw it in the pot, letting it cook in the broth and that worked well. Added about 1/2tsp of salt at the end, a few turns of the peppermill, a couple of tablespoons of sherry, and a dash or two of cayenne pepper (barely noticeable). Even still, the broth was a bit bland, but a nice chowder on a very cold night! UPDATE: This tastes better the next day; also added a few spoonfuls of homemade pesto and that gave it the flavor boost it needed for us. Thank you, Michelle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
This was pretty good. It had a great texture, I mean, it was wonderful. (It just could have used a bit more flavor). I didn't plan on pureeing it, so I thickened it with some milk and flour. It got pretty thick that way, and I still added the cream. It was smooth, and just thick enough. I would even say it was silky, lol. I added two garlic cloves, and used a grocery store rotisserie chicken. Served with "cheese bread" from this site. Very filling! I got my wild rice at Trader Joe's- much cheaper than it would be elsewhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
I was looking for the perfect recipe to use my wild rice--and I found it! I made this soup for a "tail gate" meal during this year's harvest. My father-in-law said, "There's nothing wrong with this soup," meaning he really, really liked it. My husband agreed that it was a keeper. A change I made was reducing the broth to about 6 cups because I only had about 1 cup wild rice, and I like my soup to be thicker. You absolutely must season this soup, or it will be bland! I used creole seasoning to flavor instead of salt and pepper (creole is a staple in our kitchen). Thanks for the awesome and EASY recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlebury, Indiana, USA
Living In: Atmore, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
I really liked this soup! I used seasoning salt instead of regular salt, but that was the only sub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah D

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunFlower
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
I am by no way a soup person but I LOVED this chowder! I followed the instructions except I used half and half and added one extra cup of (grilled) chicken. It was terrific! I can't wait to have the leftovers...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
This smelled wonderful. I did it in my slow cooker and used two baked chicken breasts. I also did not puree. As I said, it smelled wonderful and the veggies and chicken were great, but the liquid part was lacking something. It didn't have much flavor and we ended up adding salt to each serving. I'll work with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
I got this recipe off this website a year ago, and it has become one of our family favorites! I have made it for most of my friends, all of whom have raved about it; one friend called it the perfect comfort meal. Give this recipe a try -- you will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States