Wild Rice Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
I made this and added curry powder... and it was so delicious. Great base recipe in need of some spice. Definitely filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Duh716
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I omitted celery and added garlic, dash of red pepper and some cheddar cheese I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
It was pretty good. I added some oregano and basil while it simmered on the stove. ADD cheese at the end, it makes it come together well :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Good, thick soup. I left out the celery and added about a tablespoon of minced garlic. I also added an extra cup of chicken stock because the soup was a little thick for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Delectable, but I had to add a lot of spices, especially Cajun powder (or, more specifically, Special Sh*t).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brooklynsurecooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topsfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Good flavor, texture. Love the wild rice. Thanks! The only change I make is substituting lactose free milk for the cream since I am allergic to cream. Makes it not as thick of a chowder as the recipe calls for, but it works for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jessicadw10
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This is great! Perfect homemade chicken wild rice soup. Best part: gluten free!!! I cooked mine in a crock pot and the rice took a long time to cook, but once it was done I added the 2 cups of heavy whipping cream and it was ready to eat right away. I added salt to taste. Also - I did not puree anything, it is already thick enough. I also added extra chicken. Next time I will add mushrooms, then it will be perfect. LOVE this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
This is such a delicious fall dish! I had to make a few changes due to a lack of ingredients, I didn't use carrots but I added 1 chopped turnip, 6 chopped baby potatoes, and I substituted the heavy cream with a mixture of 1/2 c milk and 4 tbsp of butter. The texture turned out perfectly, even my picky family enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Excellent. The family loved it. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
absolutely wonderful. Great texture, perfect flavor, reminds me of Grandma's Grill Wild Rice soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shari Horack

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States