Wild Rice Chicken Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
This was pretty easy to put together and it had a nice flavor. Kids were afraid of the peas and water chestnuts, but that was to be expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Basic and easy but the rice seasoning packets are very strong. Made white rice on the side to go with. Will add it to the pan next time. Finish cooking uncovered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
This is so easy and delicious! I did substitute some of the ingrediants; instead of the wildrice mix I used fresh wildrice with a packet of french onion flavoring. That seemed to really spice it up nicely but still have all of the flavor. Thanks for a great, easy, quick recipe that looks like you spent all day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanna T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Lawn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Aside from the fact that the rice mixture took one hour to cook and the chicken took four hours and still bled red in spots, we enjoyed it (but it might have been because we were so starving we would have eaten anything). Loved the flavours! Thanks for sharing! Update December 14/09: This really is AWESOME (despite the cooking fiasco). Tonight, I chopped up the chicken and added it to the left-over rice mixture and re-heated at 275 F for 30 minutes. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sparkytoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I omitted the peas and carrots and water chestnuts, and added a diced onion and chopped celery, which is how my Mom always made it. I added extra garlic, and used chicken broth and a splash of sherry instead of water. Be sure to use a 9 x 13 pan, though. I only had a 9 x 9 available, and it's been in for 45 minutes and the rice still isn't cooked. I think the mixture is too deep to get enough heat to cook well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
I had to substitute a few things but following the basic plan gave my family a great chicken and rice casserole enhanced with a few other goodies. Looking at other comments (I've learned to look first) I cooked the rice completely before anything was added to the casserole. The chicken was cooked on the stovetop more than just browned but not completely cooked. I used real celery and some other herbs n spices and I also added cut green beans. My family has invited me to stay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durand, Michigan, USA
Living In: Houghton Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
This was a pretty good meal, very easy to make on a week night. I only made a couple of changes. I seasoned the chicken with poultry seasoning and pepper and I used skim milk in the rice mixture rather than water. The kids ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Forest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
Very yummy and easy. I used 1 cup frozen mixed vegetables instead of carrots and peas. I also used thin sliced chicken breast and have to be careful to not over cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
I loved this, my husband not so much. He was looking forward to traditional chicken and rice casserole. I loved this version, though. I cooked the chicken with curry seasoning in addition to the salt, pepper and garlic. It was absolutely delicious! My husband is a party-pooper. More for me! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sycamore, Illinois, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
Rice mixture was VERY good -- will make it again, with or without the water chestnuts (didn't have them on hand, and rice was still awesome). I seasoned the chicken differently -- used garlic powder instead of papirika -- and it was a nice blend of flavors. I will certainly make the rice again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States