Wild Rice Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
I used the hambuger variation. As a soup it was ok, as leftovers I added more milk and served it over garlic cheese biscuits, that was better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
Very good. I couldn't find wild rice when shopping, so I used white. I also used ground beef (seasoned with italian seasoning, garlic salt, sugar, and pepper) instead of sausage. Fat free evap. skim milk worked fine. We thought the velveeta taste was a little strong, so next time I'll probably use part velveeta, part cheddar. Still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REBEKAHMO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springdale, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Rogers, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
Dayum this was good. Made exactly as directed. My 18yo daughter couldn't get enough. If anything, I might add some cubed boiled potatoes next time. The italian sausage with the cheddar was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
I didn't do this recipe as written, but this still came out really good. I just grabbed plain old smoked sausage at Wal-Mart because I didn't have time to go to the grocery store too. And I used white rice. I cooked the rice in a rice cooker just because I have one. Anyway, this still came out really good. My whole house smells like sausage. It was a little thick, though. I think I will add more milk next time. Overall, a very good recipe. I'd like to try it with the Italian sausage next time. Oh, I used colby/jack cheese because I don't like processed cheese and it was just fine. :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
This is a decent base soup...However there are a few things that I will change next time. Firstly, I plan on cutting the processed cheese in half and using some fat free cheddar. (All I could taste the first time around was the velveeta!) I also would add about 2/3 cup more milk. I, like another reviewer used mostly half fat or fat free ingredients and the soup was quite creamy and good! The light velveeta is a good substitute for the full fat stuff. I'll also use 1/2 lb of 50 % less fat sausage and 1/2 lb ground turkey. This was good, it just needs a little tweaking. Thanks for a good base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARMONYGIRL79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
This recipe is pretty foolproof, I added 3 cloves of garlic, carrots, and corn. I omitted the evaporated milk and just used regular milk. My husband loved it and I finally found a recipe to use up all the venison sausage we're given in the fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crownsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
This is the greatest soup I have ever made! I eliminated the onion and substituted in crumbled bacon for the sausage. I have always gotten rave reviews when I have made this, and people always ask for the recipe. It's easy to make in a slow cooker, and I would highly recommend everyone trying this soup. Thanks Heather!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
We had this last night for dinner and it was yummy! I changed things a little bit to make it more healthy. I substituted the sausage for ground turkey, used reduced calorie soups, and 2% evaporated milk. Served it with garlic bread and it was delicious!! Can't wait to have some of the left overs today for lunch. ENJOY! Comes to about 188 per serving (minus the bread) based on the 12 serving size recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dermott, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Chester Springs, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
This was fabulous . . . easy, lots of flavor, and perfect on a cold winter night . . . My husband requested that I make it for a second time in a single week . . . A first in over 15 years of marriage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
This is a really good soup. I had ham left overs so I used that instead of sausage. I also threw in some fresh garlic and it was wonderful. I may try this next time with white rice since my son is not a wild rice fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaisinKane aka Patti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Damascus, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States