Wild Rice Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
This is such a versatile soup base! I chose to use two pre-formed hamburger patties that needed using as my base protein. I browned them with the onion and a healthy spoonful (or two) of jarred minced garlic. I also realized I had some slice baby bells needing used, so I added them to the mix, along with a sliver of butter. Surprisingly, there was no grease to drain, so I just added the remaining ingredients to the mix (though I chose to use 2 cream of potato soups in place of the cream of chicken). I also added some chicken broth (maybe a cup or two?) since I'd added so much to the mix. I used Ready Rice (R) Long Grain and Wild Rice (the kind you nuke for 90 seconds) to make this even easier (2 pouches). At some point in the process, I also added some shredded carrots so I felt like we were getting some veg. When I read a prior reviewers note that she'd left out the cheese because it wasn't needed, I scoffed. I wish I hadn't, as I just wasted calories I didn't even know were there... THANKS for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I made a couple of changes. As a starting point this recipe was very good. Instead of cream of potato soup, I used cream of mushroom soup and I cut up one potato and put it in when the milk and soups went in. Instead of plain wild rice, I used the rice-a-roni long grain and wild rice mix with additional white rice to top off the cup the recipe called for. I cooked the rice mixture as you would normally cook rice and put the seasoning packet in when I added the soups, milk, and potatoes. I also added salt, pepper, and corn. Instead of velveeta, I used about a cup of shredded cheddar and some leftover tostitos queso dip (about 1/4 cup) I had. My extremely picky kids devoured it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I have made this soup a few times and my family loves it. Sometimes I use hamburger and sometimes I use shredded chicken. I also substitue the 1 cup of milk for 1 cup of beer, my hubby loves that :) Add my favorite spices and use Velveeta cheese and they eat right up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Good but too cheesy - I would use 1/2 the cheese suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Champlin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Recipe as-is was way too thick. I added some beer to thin it out and that made it a lot better and added another layer of flavor. If I make this again I will definitely decrease the amount of cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoGatorWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
I used turkey italian sausage and ground turkey. My family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Wow, this is tasty, and helped me use up some food I needed to use up! I used cut up kielbasa instead of the italian sausage. I also added some fresh mushrooms to saute with the onions and kielbasa. I used all regular milk, no evaporated, since most reviewers claimed this soup to be quite thick. It is quite "chunky", too, so I added an extra can of soup and extra milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
I thought this soup was a little too thick. Also, I followed the advice of some other reviews and only used half the Velveeta, but I thought the cheese flavor was still too strong. My husband complained because he couldn't even taste the sausage. I don't think we'll make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
Very good soup. Does get very thick the next day, I had to add more milk to thin it out, but a wonderful taste. I used Jimmy Dean sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
Delicious and easy! I made it without the cheese though, because it was so good already, and I wanted to eliminate some of the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States