Wild Rice Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I have made this soup a few times and my family loves it. Sometimes I use hamburger and sometimes I use shredded chicken. I also substitue the 1 cup of milk for 1 cup of beer, my hubby loves that :) Add my favorite spices and use Velveeta cheese and they eat right up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Good but too cheesy - I would use 1/2 the cheese suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Champlin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Recipe as-is was way too thick. I added some beer to thin it out and that made it a lot better and added another layer of flavor. If I make this again I will definitely decrease the amount of cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoGatorWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
I used turkey italian sausage and ground turkey. My family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Wow, this is tasty, and helped me use up some food I needed to use up! I used cut up kielbasa instead of the italian sausage. I also added some fresh mushrooms to saute with the onions and kielbasa. I used all regular milk, no evaporated, since most reviewers claimed this soup to be quite thick. It is quite "chunky", too, so I added an extra can of soup and extra milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
I thought this soup was a little too thick. Also, I followed the advice of some other reviews and only used half the Velveeta, but I thought the cheese flavor was still too strong. My husband complained because he couldn't even taste the sausage. I don't think we'll make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
Very good soup. Does get very thick the next day, I had to add more milk to thin it out, but a wonderful taste. I used Jimmy Dean sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
Delicious and easy! I made it without the cheese though, because it was so good already, and I wanted to eliminate some of the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
I used the hambuger variation. As a soup it was ok, as leftovers I added more milk and served it over garlic cheese biscuits, that was better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
Very good. I couldn't find wild rice when shopping, so I used white. I also used ground beef (seasoned with italian seasoning, garlic salt, sugar, and pepper) instead of sausage. Fat free evap. skim milk worked fine. We thought the velveeta taste was a little strong, so next time I'll probably use part velveeta, part cheddar. Still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REBEKAHMO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springdale, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States