Wild Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
Great recipe. I even added some velveeta for a little twist. Hubby loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
This is a wonderfully healthy rice recipe. I love that you can just throw the rice in the pan with your favorite chopped vegies and put it in the oven (stirring every 20-30 min or so). I will definately be using this one again. Thanks Holly. (BTW...i added ginger, soy, and lots of garlic, and to me it was great this way)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBLOVE

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2004
I made this recipe and changed it a lot and it was okay. I made it for a large group (35 people) and the multiple to 30 servings was enough to feed at least fifty as a side dish. If you are multiplying it for more folks, keep that in mind. I left out the bell peppers, put in broccoli, used real onions (I should have used real garlic too) - and used large corningware casserole pans to make it in. It took about an hour and a half to cook, too, but I was making it the day before so that timing difference was okay for me but anyone making this dish should know that that part is a little off in the recipe. Everyone who ate it seemed to like it all right, but in spite of my efforts to follow the suggestions of the other reviewers, it was still kind of bland. If I made it again on a small level I might do it in the pressure cooker and add some zingy spices. I don't discourage people from trying this recipe because it is a very healthy one, but if you do try it you might want to practice with it first on a small level with some of your favorite spices before serving it to a group of guests. This recipe is a good effort at healthy food and I do like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2004
This receipe is very good when you change a few things around. I suggest adding broccolli instead of red pepper and no celery. Add 1 can veg broth, instead of 1 cube. Add water only as needed. The rice takes far longer to cook, so stiring every 15-20 minutes will help. Add at least 3tbls of salt & pepper for a better taste. Add chicken to this and it turns out great. My kids really do love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
I liked the final product, however, it did NOT cook for 1 hour in the oven. I had to finish cooking it in the microwave because my main course was finished and my guests were waiting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
Nice & easy to prepare. Kind of bland. Good for warming up later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2002
I am not a big rice eater, but even my family, .who love rice, did not like this. They said it was too bland. It definitley needed more spices. After I added some soy sauce they ate it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2002
My son and I made this dish together. Next time, maybe we'll add some broccoli or some potatoes and maybe a little more spices. Overall, pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2002
While I appreciate the nutritional value of this recipe, it was not well-received by my family. None of us liked it (adults or children) and I ended up throwing the leftovers away. Also, the prep time is a lot longer than 10 minutes unless you have a food processor. I was disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2001
With all the vegetables in it, the chopping took awhile but once it was done, all I had to do was plop it into the oven( maybe a food processor would be quicker?). It is very pleasing to the palate though. I was very pleased with the final result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States