Wild Rice Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2006
This is a FABULOUS dish!!! My husband and I loved it. I made a few alterations though. I added some cubed chicken, a clove of crushed garlic, and a can of water chestnuts for extra flavor. I only used 1 flavor packet from the rice and used reduced sodium soup to cut down on salt. Any more and it would have been salty! Make sure to stir it up periodically otherwise the rice on top won't soak enough liquid and it will be a little crunchy. I cooked mine on low for 7 hours and it was done properly, but there was a burned layer on the bottom of the crock pot. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
I'm so happy to find a side dish recipe for the crockpot. I took this to work for a potluck and it got rave reviews. To cut down on saltiness, I will probably add only one of the rice flavoring packets next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2003
This is a good side dish. As another reviewer said, it makes alot so would be excellent for large family, potluck or when having guests for supper. If your family doesn't mind having the same side dish two days in a row make it with servings as given otherwise, cut recipe in half. I agree that sliced water chestnuts would be a nice addition if you like texture variety. I think I will keep several boxes of the instant rice mix handy in my pantry now. Almost forgot, it did take a bit longer for the rice to cook completely than recipe said so you might want to test out cooking time in your slowcooker before serving it for a specifically timed dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
New Twist for the LEFTOVERS..read on! This recipe is Delicious and very easy to make. I doubled recipe for a crowd, and thanks to the other reviews I only put in half of the seasoning packets (would have been way too salty otherwise). Here's a new twist...I had quite a bit left over so put whole crock into fridge, next day I added 2 cartons of Campbell's chicken stock and a bit of leftover turkey- slowcooked for about 3 hrs on high and got RAVE reviews on the soup! Next time I will purposely make too much so we can have the soup again. Try it, you won't be dissappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
I made this for Thanksgiving dinner. My only mistake was that I also had stuffing. This came out to the same consistency as a stuffing, and tasted much better! I made only two changes. I *hate* American cheese with a passion, so I made this with some leftover Mexican Cheese Blend (cheddar, jack, queso mexicano). And I cut back on the seasoning pack in the instant long grain and wild rice by 25%, so it wouldn't be TOO salty. Everyone loved this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ComputerUp

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
This turned out to be an excellent dish! I cooked mine in a Dutch oven for two hours on medium high to high, adding more chicken stock as necessary. I also added two chopped cloves of garlic and halved both the onion and the wild rice seasoning (thanks to the other reviewers who suggested this.) Omitted the celery as I had none, and used half cheddar cheese and half parmesan cheese and it rocked! Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessajbaca

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2003
I served this for Easter brunch and it was elegant and so tasty! I added a can of sliced water chestnuts for a little extra crunch. The recipe makes a ton and we had enough for 2 more dinners. Excellent recipe and so easy- just throw it all in the crock pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Northbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
I took a chance, made it the first time for a luncheon. It was a HUGE hit- even my co-workers (very picky!!) asked to take some home. It was EXCELLENT!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ludlow, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brookline, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I made this as a Christmas side dish -- it was great! I don't really like mushrooms, so I omitted them without a problem and also used 12 oz of wild rice instead of instant rice mix and added chicken bouillon to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This is a delicious dish with a creamy risotto-like consistency and wonderful presentation. It's also super easy to make. I followed the suggestions of the other reviews and: 1) added 2 crushed garlic cloves, 2) used 1/2 of seasoning packets and 1/2 onion called for, 3) added 1/2 Cheddar & 1/2 Parmesean, 4)added water chestnuts and stirred 3/4 of way through cooking. I also didn't add the cheeses until just prior to serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States