Wild Rice Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
Very, very tasty. I made it exactly as stated and it turned out wonderfully. Others were right, though, it made a whole crockpot full so we had leftovers 2 times. I will certainly make this again but only once in a while since it is sooooo fattening and full of sodium! (That's why it's sooo good!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
This is awesome! One change I made was to use unsalted butter, as the soup and the flavor packet add enough salt to this dish as it is. We really liked this and it makes a ton.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
I really enjoyed this recipe and I will definately make again. I think I made an error in making it however, the recipe calls for 2 onions, finely chopped. I took this to mean regular onions and not what I refer to as "green onions"...well I thought it was a lot and only put in the one and still it had too much onion taste for me, but it was still good. I was wondering if anyone else had this problem since other reviewers didn't mention it or am I just "recipe-reading-challenged" not to figure this out...ha! I still gave it 5 stars as it was good and I know it will be a GREAT recipe when I use less onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rugby, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
New Twist for the LEFTOVERS..read on! This recipe is Delicious and very easy to make. I doubled recipe for a crowd, and thanks to the other reviews I only put in half of the seasoning packets (would have been way too salty otherwise). Here's a new twist...I had quite a bit left over so put whole crock into fridge, next day I added 2 cartons of Campbell's chicken stock and a bit of leftover turkey- slowcooked for about 3 hrs on high and got RAVE reviews on the soup! Next time I will purposely make too much so we can have the soup again. Try it, you won't be dissappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
I added chicken to this to make it a main dish. Good flavor, but since my work schedule requires longer time in the slow cooker, the rice was somewhat mushy--my fault, not the recipe's. Nevertheless, it was good enough to make again and I'm looking forward to the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
One of my kids' favorites. As recommended by another reviewer, I use 1.5 packets of the seasoning from the rice mix, cook less time than it says, and used light mushroom soup and half the butter. Still a big hit as a vegetarian entree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
I thought this was quite salty, but my coworkers loved it. I'll probably make this again, but with less of the wild rice seasoning. Also, mine was done in less than 5 hours on low, so your mileage may vary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
I took a chance, made it the first time for a luncheon. It was a HUGE hit- even my co-workers (very picky!!) asked to take some home. It was EXCELLENT!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ludlow, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brookline, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
Great side dish. My husband raved about it. Next time I might use cheddar cheese instead to give it that extra kick. But, I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happywife05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
It came out a gloopy mess and tasted just so-so. I even sauteed the onions and rice in the oil before putting everything into the pot. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States