Wild Rice Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 9, 2006
This is a FABULOUS dish!!! My husband and I loved it. I made a few alterations though. I added some cubed chicken, a clove of crushed garlic, and a can of water chestnuts for extra flavor. I only used 1 flavor packet from the rice and used reduced sodium soup to cut down on salt. Any more and it would have been salty! Make sure to stir it up periodically otherwise the rice on top won't soak enough liquid and it will be a little crunchy. I cooked mine on low for 7 hours and it was done properly, but there was a burned layer on the bottom of the crock pot. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
Very, very tasty. I made it exactly as stated and it turned out wonderfully. Others were right, though, it made a whole crockpot full so we had leftovers 2 times. I will certainly make this again but only once in a while since it is sooooo fattening and full of sodium! (That's why it's sooo good!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
This is awesome! One change I made was to use unsalted butter, as the soup and the flavor packet add enough salt to this dish as it is. We really liked this and it makes a ton.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
I really enjoyed this recipe and I will definately make again. I think I made an error in making it however, the recipe calls for 2 onions, finely chopped. I took this to mean regular onions and not what I refer to as "green onions"...well I thought it was a lot and only put in the one and still it had too much onion taste for me, but it was still good. I was wondering if anyone else had this problem since other reviewers didn't mention it or am I just "recipe-reading-challenged" not to figure this out...ha! I still gave it 5 stars as it was good and I know it will be a GREAT recipe when I use less onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rugby, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
New Twist for the LEFTOVERS..read on! This recipe is Delicious and very easy to make. I doubled recipe for a crowd, and thanks to the other reviews I only put in half of the seasoning packets (would have been way too salty otherwise). Here's a new twist...I had quite a bit left over so put whole crock into fridge, next day I added 2 cartons of Campbell's chicken stock and a bit of leftover turkey- slowcooked for about 3 hrs on high and got RAVE reviews on the soup! Next time I will purposely make too much so we can have the soup again. Try it, you won't be dissappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
I added chicken to this to make it a main dish. Good flavor, but since my work schedule requires longer time in the slow cooker, the rice was somewhat mushy--my fault, not the recipe's. Nevertheless, it was good enough to make again and I'm looking forward to the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
One of my kids' favorites. As recommended by another reviewer, I use 1.5 packets of the seasoning from the rice mix, cook less time than it says, and used light mushroom soup and half the butter. Still a big hit as a vegetarian entree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
I thought this was quite salty, but my coworkers loved it. I'll probably make this again, but with less of the wild rice seasoning. Also, mine was done in less than 5 hours on low, so your mileage may vary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
I took a chance, made it the first time for a luncheon. It was a HUGE hit- even my co-workers (very picky!!) asked to take some home. It was EXCELLENT!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ludlow, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brookline, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
Great side dish. My husband raved about it. Next time I might use cheddar cheese instead to give it that extra kick. But, I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happywife05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States