Wild Rice Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I make it exactly as the recipe says and it's perfect. Now I add broccoli, water chestnuts, smoked sausage, and it's no longer a side dish. I've made this numerous times and it was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I made this as a Christmas side dish -- it was great! I don't really like mushrooms, so I omitted them without a problem and also used 12 oz of wild rice instead of instant rice mix and added chicken bouillon to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
OMG!!!!!!!!! This stuff is the best rice dish ever!!!! I used sharp cheddar instead of American cheese (only because I never buy American cheese because we don't normally prefer that kind) we are not big onion eaters so I just used 1 small sweet onion and pulverized it in my food chopper! I absolutely loved this dish and ate the leftovers for two days after! I did use unsalted butter as some of the other reviewers suggested but I am confident that using salted butter next time will not make the dish too salty! I am so grateful that you posted this recipe!!!!! I have decided I am going to experiment with it further and see if I can come up with something almost the same but using just plain brown rice (because I always have brown rice on hand). Thank you sooooo much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I loved this dish! Used Mozzarella cheese, 1/2 the butter, and used a blend of plain basmati rice and plain wild rice. Sprinkled some garlic salt on the top in the last 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I loved how easy this was but felt like it needed more flavor. I don't eat much cheese but decided to substitute the American for crumbled blue cheese and MAn did that kick it up a notch!! I just crumbled it in when it was warming and fully cooked and was very happy with the entire thing that way:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This is one of the best side dishes I've ever had. I'm going to make it for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Used less butter and Mozarella cheese to reduce the fat. It still tasted great, just less guilty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This recipe has good potential. Using the ingredients listed it came out bland after cooking; not sure why. I will try it again sometime with some personal touches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alisamarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This was fantastic! I highly recommend reading the reviews before making a recipe because it will save you time, expense, and disappointment. I thoroughly read the reviews and I practically have this recipe memorized because I almost had a disaster! Because manufacturers don't want to raise their prices on their products, they are lowering their volume. Let me explain: I bought all the ingredients and proceeded to combine the water, soup, and rice w/ only 1 seasoning packet when I discovered that my box of rice only has 4.3 oz. and the recipe calls for 6 oz. box, making it a total of 8.6 oz. so I was short 3.4 oz. On some ingredients that wouldn't make a big difference but rice needs to be more accurate. What was I to do? I went ahead and had to remove some of the liquid and cut down proportionally on the cheese. Having said all that, I will now tell you what changes I made. I used cr. of chix soup (son doesn't like mushrooms), 1/2 onion, no celery, butter, or mushrooms. Cooked 6 hours on low, stirring only once after 4 hours and it was perfect! All prepared to make soup w/ the leftovers, as someone else suggested, but I didn't have any! I even doubled this in one crockpot w/o any problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I was so sad that this wasn't that good! too much butter and the rice "casserole" was just soggy rice, i would not make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States