Wild Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
I've cooked this dish twice and I also doubled the rice each time. The first time I cooked it, my family liked it but I thought it needed more flavor. The second time I cooked it, it was Christmas dinner for fourteen people so I made some modifications. I doubled the rice, left out the celery and mushrooms, used 2 cans of chicken broth,instead of three;I used two cans of cream of celery, two cans cream of mushroom, one can cream of chicken. I also added a dash of cayenne pepper. Since I don't like chicken breast, I boiled,deboned and cut up six drumsticks and threw it in. Everyone loved it including my finicky 18-year-old nephew who even asked to take some home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2001
After reading one of the other reviews I decided to double the rice which did give it more of a casserole consistancy. I also tripled the chicken. There is no way these perportions yield 8 servings. the flavor, however, was very nice. I served it to a party of 6 adults and 5 small children and everyone enjoyued it; even the kiddies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2002
Fantastic Recipe! After reading the reviews I will double the rice next time... very quick & easy to prepare and presentation is outstanding. A definite favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLIFTONJS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
so easy and comforting. Used 2 cups of the rice and 900ml of chicken stock, and no soup. Added black pepper, paprika and thyme. Added carrots, mushrooms and spinach - would definately add lots of veg. grated a little bit of parm and moz cheese on top. took exactly 1.5 hours to cook, covered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leah
Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2004
This was very good with a lot of flavor and easy to make...wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I made this years ago for our family reunion and forgot to review it. It was delicious, made just as stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sneedville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2001
i left out the mushrooms and celery and let this bake uncovered the last few minutes to thicken, but it had a really good taste. different and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
love it. left out the mushrooms. doubled the rice and I think I could add a third box, minus the seasoning pkg. left out the chicken, and doubled the sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I modified this a bit based on the ingredients I had. I used ground chicken only vs. both chicken breast AND pork. I used Health Requests Creams of Mushroom, Chicken and Celery. I did not have celery. I also used regular rice vs. wild rice. This is a great, easy, low cost recipe that is very filling and can be easily modified.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2004
I took other reviewers' advice and used two packages of wild rice and doubled the chicken and this was wonderful-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States