Wild Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I really enjoyed this dish. It was easy and was different. I will add to my regular list of meals to cook for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Great Flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Dayton, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
so easy and comforting. Used 2 cups of the rice and 900ml of chicken stock, and no soup. Added black pepper, paprika and thyme. Added carrots, mushrooms and spinach - would definately add lots of veg. grated a little bit of parm and moz cheese on top. took exactly 1.5 hours to cook, covered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leah
Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This has become a family favorite. I cut the amount sausage in half and added more chicken. Also, as some other reviewers have suggested I used 2 boxes of rice and 1 spice packet with the amount of water called for in the recipe. It was perfect! My 2 and 4 year old LOVE this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I modified this a bit based on the ingredients I had. I used ground chicken only vs. both chicken breast AND pork. I used Health Requests Creams of Mushroom, Chicken and Celery. I did not have celery. I also used regular rice vs. wild rice. This is a great, easy, low cost recipe that is very filling and can be easily modified.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I halved the recipe as there are only 2 of us. I did use the whole 6 oz box of rice, as other suggested doubling the rice, and I think it was a good ratio. (I wasn't sure whether to use the rice seasoning packet or not-- so I used 1/2 of it.) I also used probably 1 1/2 chicken breast halves, which turned out very moist. I used linguica sausage (instead of the pork sausage) and used fresh mushrooms (rather than canned) as I happened to have these on hand. Overall very good, we kept going back for more. Definitely a keeper. I served green beans as a side dish, next time I might try putting them in the casserole for some color as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This was great. I only had regular sausage so I chopped it up and used it instead, I didn't even have to double the rice like some others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I added a little more rice like suggested by the reviews and it was scrumptious! Tons of taste and very little effort. This is a good weeknight recipe for busy moms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
My husband liked it more than I did. If I made it again, (which I won't) I would use french fried onions or ritz crackers in place of the almonds. Also, per other reviewers, I reduced the amount of broth and cream-of-whatever and it turned out pretty dry. I would follow the recipe more closely next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
WOW this is scrumptious, according to my DH. He LOVED it!!!! I added 2 packages of rice to it, as other other readers suggested, and left out the almonds. but other than that, it is great. I cooked it for 1 1/2 hours and it was perfect!!! Soooo good... thanks for the recipe... Updated 3/31/08, just to add, this was salty, probably too much so, but I think that could be taken care of by adding just one of the packets of the seasoning mixes that comes with the rice, instead of adding two. Just a thought - I will do that next time I make this, and there WILL be a next time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariefnp1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, New Hampshire, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States