Wild Rice And Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by RealTime
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Tweaked... Half and Half and two percent milk. Added celery and celery seed. Also dried tomatoes for color, instead of pimento. As with another wild rice recipe... Mushrooms would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RealTime

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jerome, Arizona, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
Did not have any flavor at all. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
This is really good. I, too, decreased the amount of flour and used whole milk instead. Also, used regular onions, carrots, and mushrooms. Sauteed the onions, carrots, pimentos, minced garlic and seasonings then added flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I didn't change the recipe except to use homemade stock because I don't use canned or boxed stock/broth. It needed salt but that was prob because my homemade stock is unsalted whereas canned broth is high in salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I was pretty neutral about this soup. It tasted a bit bland to me. Considering that and its very high fat content, I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I thought it was really delicious! I cooked brown rice separately and then spooned soup over the rice when service. I also added some sauteed garlic to the mix. Loved the flavor of this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
this is a great recipe and the only reason I strayed away from the ingredients list is because I have a child who has gluten and dairy allergies. because of his allergies I ended up using brown rice flour in place of regular all purpose flour and I use rice milk instead of whole milk. outside of those modifications I followed the recipe exactly as it is and it was a hit! everyone enjoyed it from my uber picky husband down to my three children. the only thing I would suggest and this is just based on my personal taste preference... I bumped up the salt to a full teaspoon and also the poultry seasoning because I like the sage flavors I added a little bit more of the poultry seasoning. this recipe will be in my arsenal of soup recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
This was a great soup! Based on other reviewers, I only used about 3 Tablespoons of olive oil to saute 2 stalks chopped celery and regular onion (not green), and only used half of the flour. I used 2 cups pre-cooked wild rice. I added a can of mushrooms, used a combination of basil, thyme, rosemary and garlic powder. Used 1% milk instead of cream. I realize this sounds like a totally different soup, but this was an excellent jumping off point and it was tasty and fewer calories than original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
My husband made this recipe and we both agreed that it is terrific. He used skimmed evaporated milk rather than cream. I was a little bummed that the recipe had a whole stick of butter and will definitely reduce that amount when I prepare it. It was a delicious recipe though and it will be on our table again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I am a lover of wild rice. This was a good recipe. 2nd time I omitted all flour. Added canned mushrooms. Sautéed 3 cloves of garlic with canned mushrooms, green onions, and chopped red onions. At first I thought it was too much butter, but after soup simmered it was just right. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States