Wild Rice And Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
Very good. To reduce the saturated fat in the recipe we used skim milk in place of the heavy cream and extra light olive oil instead of butter. And it was still excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
I took some of the submitter's advice - used a little more wild rice, sauted reg. onions instead of green onions AND some minced celery, fresh sliced mushrooms, & shredded carrots. Finally, at the end, I added a jar of diced pimentos. Ended up w/ a nice big pot of great tasting soup! I had a craving for this sort of thing and this recipe really hit the spot! Thanks Glenda for the recipe and your helpful hints!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
This recipe is absolutely delicious and surprisingly easy to make. It is very rich, which my husband really likes. I make this all the time and it's gobbled up in a few days! Awesome recipe!! If you're looking for a way to scale back, use regular milk instead of cream...it still tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Looking over the recipe I knew it wasn’t going to be substantive enough; that I would be adding celery and mushrooms. I sautéed those ingredients together with sweet white onion rather than the green onion, and added fresh minced garlic for extra flavor. I love adding pimiento to my Chicken a la King and knew I would love it here too. Poultry seasoning isn’t something I have at our home in Naples so I had to be creative with what I had - a little Penzey’s Fox Point Seasoning (for those unfamiliar with our Penzey’s Spices in Wisconsin, Fox Point is a suburb north of Milwaukee), some Montreal Chicken Seasoning and fresh chopped parsley, rosemary and thyme. What I knew I wouldn’t like was the flour, knowing it simply would not be necessary and in fact, might even result in a consistency I wouldn’t care for. I omitted it entirely. Hubs is not a big fan of wild rice and I must admit I knew I would much prefer it mixed with regular, long grain rice. I used a 50/50 mix of both, simmering the wild rice in all broth, no water, for 45 minutes, then adding the white rice and simmering for another 20 minutes. Even without the flour I needed to add more chicken broth for my liking. This was creamy and satisfying, and gratefully not too rich – NOT adding the flour was a good call. Still, with all that’s going on with this soup, particularly with my additions, it still fell a little flat. No doubt adding some bacon and a glug of white wine would fix that right up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Cardamum
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
Very good! It definitely needs more rice. I used 3/4 c. and would use even more in the future. I cooked 3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts in the slow cooker all day with the chicken broth. When I was ready to make the soup, I took the chicken out and shredded it and then strained the chicken broth to use to make the soup. Tasty! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
The taste was pretty good, but the look of this soup once it cooled was *very* thick - kind of like mashed potatoes. If I make it again, I'm going to add much less flour/butter mixture so it will hopefully come out more like a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUBLIMEMIND82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2002
A bit rich... I would tone down the white sauce mixture, use 4tb oleo & flour & 2 cup milk instead, also didn't use pimentoes and added celery and carrots. No need to saute gr onions. This was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2001
I used chopped sweet onion instead of green onions, and added 3/4 cup sliced fresh mushrooms instead of the pimintos. Very good soup, great on a cold wintry day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
This was pretty good. A little bland, but still a nice winter dish. I added rice as advized by others and halved the flour and butter. But, I thought it was still thick and added 2 cups more of broth. I think next time I won't add the extra rice. I should add that this had much more flavor the next day and I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Versailles, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2004
A wonderful recipe - even with the changes I made. I made the mistake of making this recipe using a long grain/wild rice mixture. Like another said, it turned out really doughy. So I threw that batch away and made it again using 1 c. of egg noodles. (A bonus of this recipe - it's really quick when you use noodles!) I added carrots and shredded the chicken rather than cubed it. It turned out to be a creamy chicken noodle soup! I didn't have any poultry seasoning on hand so I just used a medley of spices (thyme, basil, rosemary, etc.) It turned out great - even my picky eaters liked it! Next time I'll try the poultry seasoning - I'm sure it will be even better. Also, I ran out of cream after the first doughy batch and so only used milk for the second try. It was still delicious, but I think the cream (even half cream/half milk) will make it even more smooth and creamy. Anyway, thanks for sharing a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States