Wild Rice And Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
Great soup, but more like a stew (which I prefer). Husband makes this for me on cold days - we usually double or triple the amount of rice and then use skim milk and a bit of all purpose flour instead of cream. It turns out great - thick, rich, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEHUNGRY98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
This soup is really rich. I kept having to add water to it when I reheated it, probably the rice. I probably won't make it again. Maybe try a recipe with less butter and less cream. Just a little too overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2004
This is the best soup recipe I've ever tried! The soup was extra thick and creamy. Better than any wild rice soup I've had at a restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
Our family loves this recipe! Instead of mushrooms, I added some corn for color as well as omitted the pimentos. I usually try to be true to the recipe, but my kids won't eat a lot of things...pimentos being one of them. Thus, the reason for my change. I still use the green onions, but do add some yellow minced onions as well. I also add in some minced garlic, just a pinch. I think next time I will use some shallots..just to see how it turns out. My kids LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this soup and so does my husband. It has become one of the "keepers," as we call them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2004
Absolutely delicious! I simmered my chicken pieces in broth & water til cooked, then cooled & shredded them. Added 1 can water, then 1/2 c.wild rice + 1/4 c.pearl barley & simmered 30 min, then added 3 thickly sliced carrots & simmered 15 min more. Then I added the roux - used 1 large chopped yellow onion in a combo of butter,butter substitute (ICBINB),&EVOO to reduce fat. Used only 1/2 c flour, then 2 c.skim milk. After adding that to soup & stirring to dissolve any clumps, I added chicken, 1 can mushroom drained (instead of pimentos) & 10-oz bag spinach - cook until spinach is wilted. We had it for dinner along with oven-roasted sweet potatoes and it was awesome. Made a big pot, which will let us enjoy lunch, dinner and lunch! My husband rated this 4-star but enjoyed it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOLCEVITA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2004
Excellent! Was so sure it was going to be good, I doubled it with the following slight changes. Used wild and brown rice mixed, ommited the pimentos, cooked the chicken (leg meat) in a little garlic and used no fat half & half slightly warmed. Will be freezing some so I'll see how that works out. Great flavor with a chowder-like consistancy which can be diluted. with water or milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2004
I had a terrible time getting this soup to turn out right. I may be doing something wrong. But even when it didn't turn out, it still tasted ok, it was just much more of a stew than a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2004
This is a great soup! However, I did add some things after reading previous reviews and my husband said he couldn't imagine it without the additions. I sauted mushrooms with the onions, and, because they produce liquid of their own, I was able to reduce the amount of butter. Also, I added some precooked white rice, which added some really nice body. Be sure that you wisk the flour roux into the cream really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2004
A wonderful recipe - even with the changes I made. I made the mistake of making this recipe using a long grain/wild rice mixture. Like another said, it turned out really doughy. So I threw that batch away and made it again using 1 c. of egg noodles. (A bonus of this recipe - it's really quick when you use noodles!) I added carrots and shredded the chicken rather than cubed it. It turned out to be a creamy chicken noodle soup! I didn't have any poultry seasoning on hand so I just used a medley of spices (thyme, basil, rosemary, etc.) It turned out great - even my picky eaters liked it! Next time I'll try the poultry seasoning - I'm sure it will be even better. Also, I ran out of cream after the first doughy batch and so only used milk for the second try. It was still delicious, but I think the cream (even half cream/half milk) will make it even more smooth and creamy. Anyway, thanks for sharing a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
This was FABULOUS! In addition to the wild rice, I stirred in 1/2 cup of leftover white rice and a handful of tiger shrimp. There are no leftovers! Thanks Glenda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States