Wild Rice And Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
regular milk instead of cream works just fine and the roux thickens the dish plenty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Wow. Both my husband and I were raving about how good this is. It was pretty easy for something that turned out so good. I'm definitely doing this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
My husband and I really enjoyed this soup. I did add some v8 juice (which I always put in chicken soups) to the broth. Also, I used only 1 cup of cream and then 1 cup of 1% milk. It was extremely easy to make with the rotisserie chicken I picked up at the store. Very quick. It actually took me about 45 minutes to get everything prepared and ready to eat. Not too shabby for such a delicious soup. It's also good leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
Good soup, my husband wanted to rate it 5 stars. We were divided at the table between 4 and 5. Since I do the reviews, 4 won.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
Very authentic MN dish, I added some red bell peppers and celery to the onion saute. I served it as first course for Christmas dinner and it was a real hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
This was pretty good. A little bland, but still a nice winter dish. I added rice as advized by others and halved the flour and butter. But, I thought it was still thick and added 2 cups more of broth. I think next time I won't add the extra rice. I should add that this had much more flavor the next day and I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Versailles, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
this recipe was easy to make and turned out really well. i understand why the author of it says she makes a BIG pot of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cherith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellington, Kansas, USA
Living In: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cardamum
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
Very good! It definitely needs more rice. I used 3/4 c. and would use even more in the future. I cooked 3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts in the slow cooker all day with the chicken broth. When I was ready to make the soup, I took the chicken out and shredded it and then strained the chicken broth to use to make the soup. Tasty! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
The taste was pretty good, but the look of this soup once it cooled was *very* thick - kind of like mashed potatoes. If I make it again, I'm going to add much less flour/butter mixture so it will hopefully come out more like a soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUBLIMEMIND82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
This is a popular dish in Minnesota and I say well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States