Wild Rice And Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Wonderful recipe. I did add carrots and used milk instead of cream. Didn't have pimentos this time but will try them next time. My husband couldn't stop raving about how good it was. Thank you Glenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Stillwater, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Amazing! I know some cooks get a little upset when recipes posted are changed, but I combined ideas from two recipes as i like more veggies. I used 46 oz of chicken stock (costco) in lieu of water and poultry seasoning. I added three chopped celery stalks, 1 chopped carrot and 8oz of chopped fresh mushrooms to the onion sautee. Used half and half and skim in lieu of heavy cream - adjusted flour for desired thickness and used 1 cup of wild rice. It was a wonderful, hearty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Excellent! The second time I made it I added 1/2 cup of flour instead of 3/4. It was not as thick which suited our taste. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellyf4

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
This soup is so nice & thick! Perfect for bread bowls which is exactly what I served it in! I was crunched for time, otherwise I would've made these myself as well, but I picked up a 1/2 dz hard rolls from my local bakery, cut the center out & served it up with chopped green onions on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This was a wonderful soup, though we made a couple of changes. I added a little more chicken broth (3 cups), and instead of 2 cups of heavy cream, I used 1 cup heavy cream and 1 cup milk. This made it slightly less heavy. I also added a handful of dried mushrooms towards the end of the initial boiling of the rice, broth & water. I also used cubed chicken breast, which worked well. Overall, a wonderful soup that is highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
I am from Minnesota and this is by far the best wild rice soup recipe I have ever had. Super easy to make, and everyone loves it! Thank you for this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carlton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cloquet, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Total Hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spezzini

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Super easy and great flavor! I used evaporated milk because I didn't have heavy cream, was still great. I also didn't have any poultry seasoning but I don't think it was missed. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Made this as written, but I did add 1 grated carrot and a couple palm fulls of frozen peas after I combined the flour mixture with the rice mixture. It made it a very colorful and tasty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln Park, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Absolutely fantastic! I made the following changes that made it that much better: I used the meat from a rotisserie chicken from the grocery store (i used all the meat from the bird to make the soup more of a hearty meal) added 4 fresh chopped carrots, some frozen peas and an extra half cup of rice and a little more chicken broth... this soup was sooooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States