Wild Rice And Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I am a lover of wild rice. This was a good recipe. 2nd time I omitted all flour. Added canned mushrooms. Sautéed 3 cloves of garlic with canned mushrooms, green onions, and chopped red onions. At first I thought it was too much butter, but after soup simmered it was just right. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I did not use cream at all, instead I used the extra broth I had. Less fat. Also added mushrooms. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as given with one change - I used 1% milk instead of heavy cream. Everything else I did exactly as the recipe says, and it came out delicious! My whole family loved it and gobbled it up. Some said it needed more salt and pepper, and we are thinking about adding crumbled bacon as a garnish next time I make it. I think more rice would also be good. The consistency was absolutely perfect - it was a thin cream soup. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
This soup is delicious! I also added celery with the onions and added carrots in with the rice and broth. Also instead of cream, I used almond milk. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Fantastic! I followed "Bonnie" suggestions and used sweet onion, added 3 cloves of garlic, sauteed a can of mushroom pieces I had on hand and a handful of leftover SuperBowl multi colored bell peppers. 3 cups of chicken stock and 3 cups of water. 1 cup of long grain and wild rice and about 5 cups of leftover bbq/rub flavored chicken breasts. Wound up adding a couple more cups of water at the end as well, a bit thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
We sauté mushrooms with the onion & add those too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Wonderful! Thank you for sharing it! I do recommend adding more rice and chicken, but it depends on how hearty you like it. We used our leftover Cornish game hens from Christmas dinner, so there were a few more herbs added from the hens, but most are in or compliment poultry seasoning, so they fit. I didn't have green onions, so I used yellow; and I only had a cup of cream, so substituted the other cup with 1%. It was perfect! This is an awesome recipe for leftover chicken and will be a forever recipe with our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This is a very solid and good recipe! I used 1% milk intead of heavy cream, since I didn't have heavy cream on hand. The flour called for made this soup a bit thick - in the future, I will use about half the flour. I did also use sweet onion instead of green onions. All in all, this is a very good recipe that I will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
This soup was delicious, but I used duck instead of chicken and vegetable broth instead of chicken broth. We loved the creamy texture and the nutty flavor of the rice. Only thing missing was some crusty french bread. Very easy to make, which never hurts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States