Wild Rice And Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
this is a great recipe and the only reason I strayed away from the ingredients list is because I have a child who has gluten and dairy allergies. because of his allergies I ended up using brown rice flour in place of regular all purpose flour and I use rice milk instead of whole milk. outside of those modifications I followed the recipe exactly as it is and it was a hit! everyone enjoyed it from my uber picky husband down to my three children. the only thing I would suggest and this is just based on my personal taste preference... I bumped up the salt to a full teaspoon and also the poultry seasoning because I like the sage flavors I added a little bit more of the poultry seasoning. this recipe will be in my arsenal of soup recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
This was a great soup! Based on other reviewers, I only used about 3 Tablespoons of olive oil to saute 2 stalks chopped celery and regular onion (not green), and only used half of the flour. I used 2 cups pre-cooked wild rice. I added a can of mushrooms, used a combination of basil, thyme, rosemary and garlic powder. Used 1% milk instead of cream. I realize this sounds like a totally different soup, but this was an excellent jumping off point and it was tasty and fewer calories than original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
My husband made this recipe and we both agreed that it is terrific. He used skimmed evaporated milk rather than cream. I was a little bummed that the recipe had a whole stick of butter and will definitely reduce that amount when I prepare it. It was a delicious recipe though and it will be on our table again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I am a lover of wild rice. This was a good recipe. 2nd time I omitted all flour. Added canned mushrooms. Sautéed 3 cloves of garlic with canned mushrooms, green onions, and chopped red onions. At first I thought it was too much butter, but after soup simmered it was just right. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I did not use cream at all, instead I used the extra broth I had. Less fat. Also added mushrooms. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as given with one change - I used 1% milk instead of heavy cream. Everything else I did exactly as the recipe says, and it came out delicious! My whole family loved it and gobbled it up. Some said it needed more salt and pepper, and we are thinking about adding crumbled bacon as a garnish next time I make it. I think more rice would also be good. The consistency was absolutely perfect - it was a thin cream soup. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
This soup is delicious! I also added celery with the onions and added carrots in with the rice and broth. Also instead of cream, I used almond milk. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Fantastic! I followed "Bonnie" suggestions and used sweet onion, added 3 cloves of garlic, sauteed a can of mushroom pieces I had on hand and a handful of leftover SuperBowl multi colored bell peppers. 3 cups of chicken stock and 3 cups of water. 1 cup of long grain and wild rice and about 5 cups of leftover bbq/rub flavored chicken breasts. Wound up adding a couple more cups of water at the end as well, a bit thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
We sauté mushrooms with the onion & add those too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This is a very solid and good recipe! I used 1% milk intead of heavy cream, since I didn't have heavy cream on hand. The flour called for made this soup a bit thick - in the future, I will use about half the flour. I did also use sweet onion instead of green onions. All in all, this is a very good recipe that I will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States