Wild Rice and Beef Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2004
This one I will make again and again. The only thing I will do different the next time is to add half a layer of cheese between the meat and rice mixture in the casserole dish. Good tasting dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RueBarbe
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
I followed this recipe with only a few minor alterations: fresh mushrooms and, since I didn't have water chestnuts, I threw in a cup of corn. It was mildly flavoured. Next time I would use a bit less butter. I will make this again as even my husband, who only likes white rice, went for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RueBarbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
Very good & easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
This recipe is awesome. My whole family actually ate it and clamored for seconds and thirds. I don't care for mushroom so I substituted with toasted almonds. I also sub'd olive oil for butter. It rocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
YUMMY! We just loved this and we gobbled up all the leftovers - in fact, I'm surprised there weren't any fights! I did make this w/ ground turkey instead of ground beef, fresh mushrooms and I added a bit extra spice and soy. Awesome - thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
Really good. I was a little apprehensive about the cheddar-curry combo but it worked really well. Other than adding a 1/2 tsp corriander and I used turkey instead of beef, I followed the recipe exactly. It did leave little buttery pools on the plates. A whole stick of butter is really a lot but I think it was an imperative part of the flavor. Perhaps the fat/flavor could come from something a bit more solid... maybe mayo. I may give that a try. But I would make this again as is. ADDENDUM: Since this review I have made this several times. My fourteen-month-old LOVES this!! We can't keep her bowl full!! My parents and my in-laws (completely opposite tastes) all love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antrim, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
Wonderful. I layered the cheese as someone suggested; used some peas instead of water chestnuts (did have any on hand). Will make this again--tomorrow night with the water chestnuts. This is one of those recipes you can 'tweak' anyway you like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tai Po, New Territories, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
I made this recipe for a potluck and everyone loved it! I added a little more soy sauce. Great recipe, will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Solvang, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
This was very good. I used sharp cheddar cheese which gave it a nice tang. Next time I will mix some of the cheese into the rice/meat mixture for a more even flavor. We added a bit of hot sauce as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Liberty, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
This had a really good flavor, but came out a bit dry. Next time, I'll add a can of cream of mushroom soup or mushroom gravy to it and I think it would be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States