Wild Rice and Beef Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2004
This one I will make again and again. The only thing I will do different the next time is to add half a layer of cheese between the meat and rice mixture in the casserole dish. Good tasting dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RueBarbe
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
I followed this recipe with only a few minor alterations: fresh mushrooms and, since I didn't have water chestnuts, I threw in a cup of corn. It was mildly flavoured. Next time I would use a bit less butter. I will make this again as even my husband, who only likes white rice, went for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RueBarbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
Very good & easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
This recipe is awesome. My whole family actually ate it and clamored for seconds and thirds. I don't care for mushroom so I substituted with toasted almonds. I also sub'd olive oil for butter. It rocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
YUMMY! We just loved this and we gobbled up all the leftovers - in fact, I'm surprised there weren't any fights! I did make this w/ ground turkey instead of ground beef, fresh mushrooms and I added a bit extra spice and soy. Awesome - thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
Really good. I was a little apprehensive about the cheddar-curry combo but it worked really well. Other than adding a 1/2 tsp corriander and I used turkey instead of beef, I followed the recipe exactly. It did leave little buttery pools on the plates. A whole stick of butter is really a lot but I think it was an imperative part of the flavor. Perhaps the fat/flavor could come from something a bit more solid... maybe mayo. I may give that a try. But I would make this again as is. ADDENDUM: Since this review I have made this several times. My fourteen-month-old LOVES this!! We can't keep her bowl full!! My parents and my in-laws (completely opposite tastes) all love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antrim, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
Wonderful. I layered the cheese as someone suggested; used some peas instead of water chestnuts (did have any on hand). Will make this again--tomorrow night with the water chestnuts. This is one of those recipes you can 'tweak' anyway you like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tai Po, New Territories, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
I made this recipe for a potluck and everyone loved it! I added a little more soy sauce. Great recipe, will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Solvang, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
This was very good. I used sharp cheddar cheese which gave it a nice tang. Next time I will mix some of the cheese into the rice/meat mixture for a more even flavor. We added a bit of hot sauce as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Liberty, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
This had a really good flavor, but came out a bit dry. Next time, I'll add a can of cream of mushroom soup or mushroom gravy to it and I think it would be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States