Wild Mushroom Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
Very good! We followed recipe exact - make sure you like mushrooms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Landisville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
I cooked this stuffing on last Thanksgiving, and oh my, this is the best stuffing our family had ever had! I know we will be making this stuffing over & over again for Holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2005
Made this for Thanksgiving. It was great but is definitely a LOT of work. I goofed up and did not quite have enough egg bread (challah). Seems to help to have extra broth on hand to keep it moist (substituted vegetable broth). Otherwise it was very good and a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
This is a great stuffing. I replaced the egg bread with a whole-grain bread, and it was pretty good. Also added some garlic since I'm a garlic fiend. Everyone said it was the best stuffing they ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
It all got eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
This was by far the best stuffing I have ever made or eaten! I recommend it wholeheartedly. I called all over town to get the egg bread and tracked down one bakery who had it in stock before Thanksgiving, and it was worth the hunt. I did cut down the amount of bread by about 1/4 as I didn't want it too 'bready', and I forgot to toast the hazlenuts but to no detrimental effect. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
This stuffing was so unforgettable last year that it was specifically requested again. I used this recipe to stuff the "world's greatest turkey" recipe from this site which uses champagne as the basting juice--talk about elegant. I also found a great sweet potato recipe "praline sweet potatoes" it bakes up light and fluffy like a souffle--that was also requested again this year and though I doubled it last year I may triple it this time because it was the first to go! All in all it was a very gourmet meal and everyone (20 people) were highly impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SolarMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
I gave this a two because of the amount of time and effort this takes to make. It is also expensive (where I live mushrooms are not cheap). It was good but lots of work. Good recipe if you have a lot of people hanging around the kitchen looking for something to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
I just made this for the holidays, AMAZING! I used Rosemary bread as I read in someone elses review and it is lovely. My mother-in-law picks her own mushrooms and dries them so I eyeballed the amount. I also used half celery and half water chestnuts which was a nice blend. This recipe is such a earthy dish that it warms the soul for the holidays. I will definitely be making this for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2003
Used rosemary bread from our machine and button mushrooms, subbed waterchestnuts for celery and red onions for leeks, added 1/2tsp. minced garlic, halved thyme and sage. Mushrooms cooked in white & red wine/broth reduction. I diced up 1 can of pears to add at end and used wine/broth reduction to moisten. I don't think I ever had better stuffing/dressing!! It was absolutely delicious...can't imagine if I had wild shrooms!!! I'm not fond of the texture of the dried thyme and rosemary "needles"...will grind them up better next time. TY for the fabulous recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Wild Mushroom Ragout

See how to make a creamy mushroom stew with wild mushrooms.

Oyster Dressing or Stuffing

See how to make the perfect Thanksgiving stuffing for seafood lovers.

Bread and Celery Stuffing

See how to make a classic stuffing recipe for the Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States