Wild Mushroom Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2000
This stuffing is outstanding! It's a beautiful dark color from the wild mushrooms, and everyone at my Thanksgiving dinner loved it. Many went back for seconds on this before the turkey!! It is a little time consuming to prepare, but well worth the effort. I couldn't find egg bread, so I cubed and toasted egg buns, and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2003
Used rosemary bread from our machine and button mushrooms, subbed waterchestnuts for celery and red onions for leeks, added 1/2tsp. minced garlic, halved thyme and sage. Mushrooms cooked in white & red wine/broth reduction. I diced up 1 can of pears to add at end and used wine/broth reduction to moisten. I don't think I ever had better stuffing/dressing!! It was absolutely delicious...can't imagine if I had wild shrooms!!! I'm not fond of the texture of the dried thyme and rosemary "needles"...will grind them up better next time. TY for the fabulous recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2001
Guests with vastly different tastes *raved* about this at Thanksgiving! Wild Mushroom Stuffing is about to become an annual tradition in my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
Based on looks alone I give this recipe 5 stars. My husband said it looked so professional, he loved the taste and couldn't get enough of it. Also I made this at Thanksgiving time and egg bread was very very scarce around here, I ended up using butter egg rolls and cut them up, this recipe still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
Very good! We followed recipe exact - make sure you like mushrooms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Landisville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
The only mistake I made with this one was not knowing how much one of my 2 guests hated mushrooms, but it was fantastic for the rest of us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Souix Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
This was by far the best stuffing I have ever made or eaten! I recommend it wholeheartedly. I called all over town to get the egg bread and tracked down one bakery who had it in stock before Thanksgiving, and it was worth the hunt. I did cut down the amount of bread by about 1/4 as I didn't want it too 'bready', and I forgot to toast the hazlenuts but to no detrimental effect. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
It all got eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2001
This is an excellent recipe. I love mushrooms so having a variety of mushrooms in one dish was extra special. My family and neighbors loved this stuffing and said it was the best they've ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
I gave this a two because of the amount of time and effort this takes to make. It is also expensive (where I live mushrooms are not cheap). It was good but lots of work. Good recipe if you have a lot of people hanging around the kitchen looking for something to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Wild Mushroom Ragout

See how to make a creamy mushroom stew with wild mushrooms.

Oyster Dressing or Stuffing

See how to make the perfect Thanksgiving stuffing for seafood lovers.

Bread and Celery Stuffing

See how to make a classic stuffing recipe for the Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States