Wild Mushroom Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
I have made this for years. I can not eat a steak without it! The more of a mix of types of mushrooms the wilder the flavor. I use one package dry brown gravy mix and 1/2 cup water for the demi-glace. Turns out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I prepare sauteed mushrooms frequently. I have tried any number of recipes for them, from AR and elsewhere, as well as my own tried and true favorite. But none are finer than this recipe. Rich, deeply complex and full-bodied flavors with a first-class presentation. Using what's available in my area, I prepared this with a blend of oyster, shitake and baby bella mushrooms, veal demi-glace and a red zinfandel (and the shallots, of course). Since the demi-glace I used was very concentrated and thick, I loosened it up with some chicken broth. Exquisite, a real prize.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
Fabulous! I was looking for a good recipe using mixed dried mushrooms, and this adapted perfectly. (When rehydrating the mushrooms, I added red wine and a little coarse Kosher salt to the warm water, and saved the resulting liquor for another use.) Of course, I did tweak the recipe a little to my own taste, as we all do. I used green onions (didn't have any shallots) and added one small clove of garlic, finely minced. Also, demi-glace is not a current staple in my kitchen, so I used beef broth and more wine, along with a pinch of nutmeg, and liberal freshly ground mixed pepper. Since I was working with rehydrated dried mushrooms, I was not concerned that any spices would overcome, as drying intensifies the flavour of wild mushrooms. The sauce reduced nicely with a longer cooking time, and I did follow a previous suggestion and mixed a VERY small amount of brown gravy mix in some water, and added it at the last minute. Served with rare/med rare NY Strip steaks, this was a gourmet treat. I WILL be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E J

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2002
I served this recipe over the top of pan seared beef medalions and it was incredible. I will most definitely make this recipe again. I made a couple of changes to the recipe for my taste and availabity/price of the mushrooms. I added a couple of extra tablespoons of butter and used 5 ounces of shitake, portabella and grocery store mushrooms each. I used the recipe for 6 servings and it was the perfect fit. Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
ABSOLUTLEY WONDERFUL!!!!! I could not find all the mushrooms so I used a 6 oz. pack of potabellas and a 5 oz. pack of shiitake. I also used a brown grazy packet with 1/2 cup of water for the demi glace. Very easy and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Currie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanover, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
Don't let the list scare you off! This is a fabulous alternative to steak au poivre. We were looking for a Ragout of Wild Mushrooms in Puff Pastry as served by Cole's Chop House in Napa. We took this recipe and used it as a base, then we tweeked it to a Napa standard(i.e. we reduced about 400 ml of BV Coastal Estates Zinfandel to a loose glace). Shallot is so underated, but here they really shine through. For our mushroom selections we used some fresh choices, Oyster and Portobello. Then we added dried mushrooms, Morel and Chanterelle. I think the added reduction really punched up the favors... there's nothing subtile here! Serve this in a puff pastry cup along side a robustly seasoned (Montreal spices) rib eye steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
This recipe was exactly what I was looking for! I used the packet of brown gravy and 1/2 cup of water because I didn't have demi-glace. I also added some crushed rosemary and thyme. My steaks were delicious! I will be making this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ravena, New York, USA
Living In: Rensselaer, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
What a wonderful complex mushroom sauce. The combination of mushrooms makes me smile. To all you people who rate a recipe but don't follow it exactly or very close to the origional recipe, PHOOEY ON YOU, especially if you give it less than 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
Outstanding...! I used crimini, shiitake, & oyster mushrooms and followed the recipe as written. This is a fast & simple recipe with LAYERS of flavor. Thanks - I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2003
I really enjoy this sauce , I simplified it even more..I used only morel mushrooms. The taste acually complimented venison ,that I served with it !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Wild Mushroom Ragout

See how to make a creamy mushroom stew with wild mushrooms.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States