Wild Mushroom Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
This recipe was exactly what I was looking for! I used the packet of brown gravy and 1/2 cup of water because I didn't have demi-glace. I also added some crushed rosemary and thyme. My steaks were delicious! I will be making this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ravena, New York, USA
Living In: Rensselaer, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
What a wonderful complex mushroom sauce. The combination of mushrooms makes me smile. To all you people who rate a recipe but don't follow it exactly or very close to the origional recipe, PHOOEY ON YOU, especially if you give it less than 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
Would love to give 5, but as I didn't exactly follow the recipe that doesn't seem right. I didn't have time to prepare a demi glace, so I omitted that completely. I also used very finely diced onion instead of shallots as I always have lots of fresh onions and never any shallots. I also used chanterelle and shitake mushrooms only, because that is what I had. It was terrific!!! I spooned this over some fresh puff pastry and topped with shaved parmesean cheese and it was heavenly, not to mentioned looked very complex (which is so not true!). I plan to use this as a dinner party dish soon. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizzieBearCooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
ABSOLUTLEY WONDERFUL!!!!! I could not find all the mushrooms so I used a 6 oz. pack of potabellas and a 5 oz. pack of shiitake. I also used a brown grazy packet with 1/2 cup of water for the demi glace. Very easy and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Currie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanover, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
Fantastic recipe. Just made this to have with some nice rump steaks and it came out great - even with just standard 'run of the mill' mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FISSER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
Fabulous! I was looking for a good recipe using mixed dried mushrooms, and this adapted perfectly. (When rehydrating the mushrooms, I added red wine and a little coarse Kosher salt to the warm water, and saved the resulting liquor for another use.) Of course, I did tweak the recipe a little to my own taste, as we all do. I used green onions (didn't have any shallots) and added one small clove of garlic, finely minced. Also, demi-glace is not a current staple in my kitchen, so I used beef broth and more wine, along with a pinch of nutmeg, and liberal freshly ground mixed pepper. Since I was working with rehydrated dried mushrooms, I was not concerned that any spices would overcome, as drying intensifies the flavour of wild mushrooms. The sauce reduced nicely with a longer cooking time, and I did follow a previous suggestion and mixed a VERY small amount of brown gravy mix in some water, and added it at the last minute. Served with rare/med rare NY Strip steaks, this was a gourmet treat. I WILL be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E J

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
Don't let the list scare you off! This is a fabulous alternative to steak au poivre. We were looking for a Ragout of Wild Mushrooms in Puff Pastry as served by Cole's Chop House in Napa. We took this recipe and used it as a base, then we tweeked it to a Napa standard(i.e. we reduced about 400 ml of BV Coastal Estates Zinfandel to a loose glace). Shallot is so underated, but here they really shine through. For our mushroom selections we used some fresh choices, Oyster and Portobello. Then we added dried mushrooms, Morel and Chanterelle. I think the added reduction really punched up the favors... there's nothing subtile here! Serve this in a puff pastry cup along side a robustly seasoned (Montreal spices) rib eye steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
Outstanding...! I used crimini, shiitake, & oyster mushrooms and followed the recipe as written. This is a fast & simple recipe with LAYERS of flavor. Thanks - I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
A truly wonderful sauce, this goes excellent with just about anything including pork and chicken. I served this with a roasted chicken this last Sunday, using chicken demi glace instead of beef. I could not find morel or chanterelle mushrooms so I used button mushrooms and increased the amounts of the other mushrooms instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
I have made this for years. I can not eat a steak without it! The more of a mix of types of mushrooms the wilder the flavor. I use one package dry brown gravy mix and 1/2 cup water for the demi-glace. Turns out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Wild Mushroom Ragout

See how to make a creamy mushroom stew with wild mushrooms.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States