Wild Mushroom Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Excellent recipe. I make another mushroom sauce, pretty much like this one, but substitute Marsala wine for the red wine. Marsala gives the mushroom a slightly sweeter taste. Ummm, delicious!! I use this sauce for my Chicken Marsala and also over turkey cutlets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I got a great deal on Portabello mushrooms (which we love) so I searched the site for a recipe for sauteing them. Came across this! Used scallion (no shallots on hand) and added garlic (of course!) and proceeded to make the sauce exactly as written. (I DID use the brown gravy mix and water for the beef demi-glaze). I had already planned on broiling my teriyaki salmon fillet so, although not beef, I used the sauce over medium cooked noodles and added plain steamed Brussel sprouts to finish out the meal. It was spectacular! Both my husband and I LOVED it! And I particularly liked how fast and easy the whole meal was --- from start to finish in less than an hour. Delicious AND easy/ Who could ask for anything more??!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eatontown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
A very useful recipe! However, a comment - morel mushrooms can be extremely difficult to find, either growing wild or at your grocer. They tend to be very expensive! If your on a budget, try using dried & washed morels & reconstituting with cool water for approx. 30 min. drain, reserving the juices, and add to recipe where called for. the reserved liquid can be used to augment the demi-glace. Chef Mark Christopher
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sgt.Rock

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
This sauce tasted amazing and it was so so easy to prepare! I did make a few adjustments though to add my own style to it. Sauteed the shallots with garlic and butter since garlic belongs in everything I cook. Used 2 parts crimini to one part each shiitake and oyster mushrooms since that was all I could find at the grocery store that day, and cut them very thin. Took everyones advice and used the packet of gravy mix with 3/4 cup water. Simmered with a bay leaf for some extra flavour. One thing I didn't quite agree with was the cooking times. It definitely took a lot more than 3 minutes to cook the mushrooms, more like 10 and I simmered the red wine for another 10 minutes or so just to remove some of the "winey" taste. All in all this recipe was deliciously yummy over garlic mashed potatoes and roasted chicken. Next time I would add a splash of cream at the end just to add a bit of richness, but that's just me =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I made this to top some grilled filet mignons and it was AMAZING!!! I only had white mushrooms so I can't wait to try it with the variety. Also used beef stock and a little beef bullion because it's what I had on hand. Used a nice chianti bc did not want an overly powerful wine taste. Amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noelle C :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I prepare sauteed mushrooms frequently. I have tried any number of recipes for them, from AR and elsewhere, as well as my own tried and true favorite. But none are finer than this recipe. Rich, deeply complex and full-bodied flavors with a first-class presentation. Using what's available in my area, I prepared this with a blend of oyster, shitake and baby bella mushrooms, veal demi-glace and a red zinfandel (and the shallots, of course). Since the demi-glace I used was very concentrated and thick, I loosened it up with some chicken broth. Exquisite, a real prize.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Sorry, I really wanted to like this a little bit more. Sometimes I think one of the problems with reading the reviews ahead of time is the hype, some of these reviews hype the recipes up so much that you're looking forward to something soooo delicious, and then when it's not, it's really disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennymama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This sauce was absolutely incredible! I bought all the mushrooms listed with exception of the morels (they are just too expensive!) Also, we didn't have Demi Glace and weren't sure what it was so we wing'd it by using rich beef stock with a packaged brown sauce. I'm sure REAL Demi Glace would've knocked this recipe off the charts, but the packet gravy/sauce mix still had wonderful results. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PTownGal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Wow! This is very good. I used 8 oz. oyster mushrooms, 3 medium sized portobellos, and a brown gravy mix combined with 1/2 cup of water for the demi glace. Excellent! I will definitely make it again. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Used one 8oz package of sliced baby bella mushrooms and substituted gravy mix for demi glace, and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Wild Mushroom Ragout

See how to make a creamy mushroom stew with wild mushrooms.

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States