Wild Grape Starter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 30, 2009
The wild grape starter was much more active for me than store-boughten yeast starter. I dumped my store-boughten yeast starter and use this one exclusively.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELA CAROL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
This recipe worked great! Took a bit longer in my cold kitchen & I used non-organic grapes since organic were not available, but the result works perfectly. Thanks very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
It works, OMG! Would have never guessed it would be so easy to create your own starter. I have no domestic grapes in yard, so I went in woods and picked some wild fox grapes that the critters hadn't gotten to yet. Only could pick 1/2lb, as the individual grapes are the size of peas and there weren't that many. So I Cut all ingredients in half until I built it up. It hasn't reached and intense level of activity yet, but I will babysit it for a while and see. In the meantime, I'll just add extra yeast to recipes. Bread tastes great though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
I think this is great! My grape mash started molding at day 3. I decided to just scrape the top moldy stuff off and let it set another day. I then strained it and mix in the flour. It worked great. Now it is time to start making the bread. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
I looove how sour this starter is. Someone else said it's comparable to San Fran sourdough and I agree. Super duper sour! When it comes to starter/other wet ingredients ratio in a recipe I think you probably want to go 1:1 or even 1/2 to 1. I made a loaf of bread a couple days ago using only starter (no yeast) and it was so sour I could barely eat it! I should've made a bigger batch and added additional water or milk...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARL20

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
My grapes started to mold on day three. I don't know why, but I would appreciated suggestions:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Martin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tanaquil
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Update again: I never got to make a bread with this. We went on vacation, and then hubby had surgery so when I got back to it, it was still sitting on the counter and it smelled like a VERY strong beer! I wasn't sure if I should use it, so I ended up throwing it out. I will try again at some point, it seemed to really bubble, very yeast-y! Upate: Bubbling nicely! (see posted pic) after 3 days. Original review: Mashed the grapes for fermentation 6-16-08, will update and take pics/ progress. I am experimenting with bread making that does not use the traditional yeast, I am also trying to make Salt Rising Bread (recipe also on this site). I am interested to see which one turns out the best...(:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
Attempted this with horrible results. The day I added the wheat flour, my starter spilled all over the table. May try again some day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Resizzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellsburg, New York, USA
Living In: Addison, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
I am on day seven and getting worried that it wont turn out! It seems such a weird way to make sourdough starter! But, I have my fingers crossed and a tasty sourdough biscuit recipe all ready to be used on day nine! UPDATE: Well, my fears were unfounded. It is now about three weeks later and I have used the starter to make pitas, rolls and bread. I wasn't sure about the amounts to feed the starter, so I just guesstimated and added equal amounts of flour and water each time. The consistency is viscous and the smell is very sour. I use a cup of starter, mixed with milk and flour and put it in the oven overnight and the next morning I mix up pitas, rolls, whatever and it works every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
Talk about quick! I am only at step 2 and have already watched the flour mixture rise rapidly in the first couple of hours. I did forget the grape mush til day 4 however. Can already smell the pleasant sour smell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sourdough Starter

See how to make sourdough starter for your homemade baked goods.

Is Your Sourdough Starter Alive & Well

Discover the signs that reveal your starter is properly nourished.

How to Feed a Sourdough Starter

See how to nourish your San Francisco sourdough bread starter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States