Wild Goose Breasts with Orange Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
They came out very tough and leathery and no flavor Need to try this another way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Great texture, good color, the flavor was all orange. I could not taste any of the goose, just orange, which was fine, because who doesn't like orange?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Studhauler
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
The flavor in this recipe was amazing. The glaze didn't overpower the bird, but every bite definitely had a nice citrusy flavor. It took significantly longer than the recipe time indicated to cook (I used two very large breasts), and it wasn't notably juicy and tender. I basted it approximately every 10 minutes. It was excellent and I will definitely use this recipe again should I come into some more goose in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Delicious!! Our husband had a very successful first goose hunt and we were unsure of what to do with the meat. I was a bit leery that it might be too gamey but it was delicious! Our 15 month old ate a full adult portion and my FIL requested me to make this for him to take to the boys on their next hunting trip. I didn't change a thing and it was perfect. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
This recipe was excellent. We marinated the goose breasts over night in orange juice to reduce the gamey taste. Cooking time was closer to 1 hour. We will definitely be serving this dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Hi, I was looking for a new recipe for elk. When I found this one, Danelle and I decided we'd give it a go. Absolutely delicious!! The orange glaze enhanced the elk steak perfectly. We are very happy with this recipe and will definitely use it more. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
this was my first try at cooking goose. and if i were to make it again, i would cook it in a dish with a lid. Keep the moisture in! and the 30 minutes at 350 would be 30 minutes on 400... because it takes more than 350 degrees. my goose (steak) tasted really good with the glaze though. my wife was game for the goose until it was cooked. then she chickened out. pun intended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth and Luke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I don't know that it was glazed, but it definitely added a sweet orange flavor to the meat. If you don't like goose, you won't like this recipe. DO NOT overcook goose. It makes the meat taste like liver. At a half hour the meat was like a medium rare steak. Next time I make it I'm going to add a little more brown sugar. My wife refuses to eat wild game, but the one of my kids that likes food and the neighbors loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Defiance, Ohio, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
it might be that I just don't like goose, but I thought it was not tender AT ALL it was tough and leathery, however I had never had goose before this, my husband went out killing geese and I felt I had to vindicate him by cooking his kill, but no it was not good. I am not looking forward to goose hunting season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilkie, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
My husband is always bringing home wild game and waiting in eager anticipation for me to come up with some magical way to prepare it! This is absolutely the best recipe I have found for goose breast! He was pleasantly surprised with this dish and said it was better than he thought it would be. The sauce complimented the meat perfectly and the only ingredient I lacked was the caraway...it was great without it. I don't know if this makes a difference or not but my husband insists on soaking the goose breast in milk for a couple days and then juice (apple, cranraspberry, etc.) for a day or two. He says it removes the gamey taste. Thanks for a great, easy recipe. We will definately use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAKOBSMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winslow, Maine, USA
Living In: Winthrop, Maine, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Roast Christmas Goose

See the easy way to make gorgeous roast goose for Christmas dinner!

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States