Wife Saver French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2008
I tried this recipe this past weekend on my husband's family and it was a big hit! The directions were easy to follow and the end results were wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
This was great. I tried it for Saturday brunch with the ladies from my church. Because of the reviews that it may be a little too sweet, I didn't use the syrup. This was a hit. I will use it again,it's a time saver.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
My son loves french toast and asked for it today for breakfast. I had a small loaf of day old french bread. I halved the recipe, but used 2 eggs. I did NOT refrigerate overnight, just prepared and let sit for 15 minutes to soak. I also mixed the cinnamon in the egg mixture. Skipped the sprinkle of sugar before baking. Served with blueberry and spice sauce recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Jaeger
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
Besides cutting down a bit on the sugar I followed the directions exactly. However I could only fit 6 slices of bread in the pan, they were pretty big slices and I had to squeeze them to fit. That being said, I felt there was way too much milk. The bread was really wet after baking. It had really great flavor and the house smelled wonderful while baking. I may try again using less milk and maybe more egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stacy P
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
This was a delicious and easy to prepare recipe. I love being able to put breakfast together the night before and just pop it in the oven in the morning. I had to tweak the recipe a little because I only had a demi loaf of day old French bread. I was able to get 8 small 1 inch slices out of the loaf. I was going to halve the recipe but ended up just tweaking it a little. Here are the changes I made: 1/2 c brown sugar, 1/4 c light corn syrup, 8 slices of french bread, 1 3/4 c 2% milk. Everything else I left the same. I baked it in an 8x8 glass baking dish. I mixed together the cinnamon and sugar mixture but ended up only using a little over half because that seems like enough. I baked 50 mins and it came out of the oven perfect! My husband loved it, so I will be making this again in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy P

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
This was so yummy. I don't like when people change a recipe aropund and they rate it, but here I go. I didn't have time to let it set over night becuase my kids were hungry now,of course! But I really wanted to try this one. I followed the recipe and cooked the brown sugar, etc. Instead of pouring the egg mixture over the bread, I continued to make regular french toast on the stove. I tol some of the brown sugar mixture and spread it in a skillet, dunked the bread into the egg mixture and put it in the skillet and cooked as usual. It still turned out wonderful! I can't wait to plan ahead and make it in the over to see the difference. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fair Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
General consensus of the fam? They really liked it. DH: "This is up there with the best!" The lad: "Yummy! It tastes like shin-min (cinnamon) rolls." Even the girl ate this... But, me? I thought this was unpleasant to say the least. Had the consistency of a loose dough! Way too wet, mushy and weird. Had it crisped up - even a little bit, I bet I would have loved it. Only change: Adding in a splash of Almond Extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Auntie D in MN
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
I made the recipe as is, and feel it is only 4 stars. The flavor is good, but the texture is MUSH. If I were to make it again, I would cut the milk by nearly half. It is also very sweet, I would be tempted to cut back on the corn syrup. The caramel side of each piece was the best part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Great! I used 12 pcs. of 1" thick bread so I increased the eggs to 3 and kept the milk quantity as stated. It was not soggy at all. In error I mixed the white sugar and cinnamon into the egg mixture before hand instead of just prior to baking - this worked out fine. Very easy and very tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAISIN1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
The overall flavor of this french toast was delicious and a big hit with my family when I made it for our New Year's Day brunch but in the future, I will make a few slight modifications to the recipe. First, I will just let it sit for maybe a couple of hours before I plan to bake it, next I will use parchment paper on the bottom of the pan and instead of pouring the brown sugar abd corn syrup mixture in the bottom of the pan, I think it's best to pour it on top of the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kia mckinney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States