Wife Saver French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LHOERTH
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
I think this needs more eggs (6-8) and less milk (1 cup). Otherwise, it was very good. It's so easy to make for overnight guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LHOERTH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chilton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I only gave it 2 stars for the simple reason that the light corn syrup made it so hard to eat. It was so sticky that it stuck to your teeth and very hard to cut up because it stuck to the plate as well. I didnt use the 1/2 cup it called for just about a quarter cup. It did have a great flavor, just not easy to eat. Maybe next time will leave it out altogether. Also took some others advice and cut back on the milk. Cut it in half (1 1/4 cup) and stiil was just a tad to mushy. Need to cut it back alittle more. It has a great flavor and all but need to figure out the corn syrup ratio so it isnt so gummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This was easy and yummy. I added another egg and about 3/4 cup more milk. I like my French Toast a bit moist. The 'sugar' turned to a gooey concoction that stuck to our teeth as it cooled. Great dish for a morning special breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Powdersville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
My family RAVED over this!I used maple syrup in place of the corn syrup and only used 1/4 cup of dark brown sugar. This is a definite keeper! Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Pretty tasty, used two layers of raisin bread to soak up the liquid instead of thick bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
The overall flavor of this french toast was delicious and a big hit with my family when I made it for our New Year's Day brunch but in the future, I will make a few slight modifications to the recipe. First, I will just let it sit for maybe a couple of hours before I plan to bake it, next I will use parchment paper on the bottom of the pan and instead of pouring the brown sugar abd corn syrup mixture in the bottom of the pan, I think it's best to pour it on top of the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Great! I used 12 pcs. of 1" thick bread so I increased the eggs to 3 and kept the milk quantity as stated. It was not soggy at all. In error I mixed the white sugar and cinnamon into the egg mixture before hand instead of just prior to baking - this worked out fine. Very easy and very tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAISIN1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Auntie D in MN
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
I made the recipe as is, and feel it is only 4 stars. The flavor is good, but the texture is MUSH. If I were to make it again, I would cut the milk by nearly half. It is also very sweet, I would be tempted to cut back on the corn syrup. The caramel side of each piece was the best part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
General consensus of the fam? They really liked it. DH: "This is up there with the best!" The lad: "Yummy! It tastes like shin-min (cinnamon) rolls." Even the girl ate this... But, me? I thought this was unpleasant to say the least. Had the consistency of a loose dough! Way too wet, mushy and weird. Had it crisped up - even a little bit, I bet I would have loved it. Only change: Adding in a splash of Almond Extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
This was so yummy. I don't like when people change a recipe aropund and they rate it, but here I go. I didn't have time to let it set over night becuase my kids were hungry now,of course! But I really wanted to try this one. I followed the recipe and cooked the brown sugar, etc. Instead of pouring the egg mixture over the bread, I continued to make regular french toast on the stove. I tol some of the brown sugar mixture and spread it in a skillet, dunked the bread into the egg mixture and put it in the skillet and cooked as usual. It still turned out wonderful! I can't wait to plan ahead and make it in the over to see the difference. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fair Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States