Wiener Winks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2007
I had never heard of these until my husband was waxing nostalgic for his childhood school lunches. I made these, and he almost cried from happiness! They brought back great memories for him, and they were pretty darn tasty, too! Thanks for posting this fun, retro recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allie D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
Wow!! we loved these!! Used margerine instead of butter. Quick, tasty and nice presentation. These are not messy at all, and probably the easiest recipe i got from this site. Flavorful without much effort. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vigo, Galicia, Spain
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
these are the perfect answer to an after school snack. My kids and I love them. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
My mom used to make these after church when I was a little girl - thanks for bringing back wonderful memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2005
I remember eating these when I was little - couldn't remember how to make them then I found this! Thanks Krista, now I can make them for my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COTIJO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2005
It takes several batches to fill up my gang but they absolutely love these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monahans, Texas, USA
Living In: New Braunfels, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
Thanks so much for this recipe!! I am another one who used to eat these in school! They are the best. I'm going to make them very soon for my kids. Thanks for posting the fat content on each recipe though, I am definitely going to have to limit us to one each!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chenoa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
These are so good! I think I almost like these better than wrapping the hotdogs in biscuits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Java_Girl
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
These were so cool and very kid friendly! They are very fast to prep. Just slather the butter, place the cheese and hot dog and wrap. I ended up using 3 toothpicks to secure it because just using one tore the bread. The beef franks are a little too big for my kids so I used regular hot dogs. As much as I love cooking I don't do it until after my little ones are in bed so I'm really happy about this because I can throw it together and let it bake while I play with them. Thank you for posting this recipe, it's given me so much more than just the Weiner Winks! One more thing, instead of getting butter on my fingers while I roll it, I just wrap the hot dog first and then spray the no calorie butter spray on the outside. Still bakes up nice and toasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Java_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
This recipe brings a smile to my face. Mom used to make these for us when we were growing up. I love them! Ketchup or mustard to serve with or both mixed together. Thanks for bringing back some memories:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Hot Dogs

Your kids will love these great ways to make, and eat, hot dogs.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States