Wiener Winks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
In order to not make a mess with these, the easiest thing that I've always done is just butter the bread and lay it on a square piece of tin foil. then just roll it up and twist the ends and cook for about 12-15 minutes and it usually all stays together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by burtonm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2003
I make these when I need a quick snack but it works alot better to use Grands or any other of the jumbo size refrigerator biscuits and simply stretch and wrap the biscuit around the hotdog and cheese. Bake for the time stated on your tube of biscuits and be sure to seal the edges well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2002
These are a good idea, however I think one would have to use the square sandwich bread. We used the rounded top bread and had a mess on our hands, because the bread tore and would not wrap around the hot dog. The kids were not too impressed either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Goshen, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lemonhoney
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Fun for kids and teens. We used to call these "Skater Dogs" When I was in school and making these. All my friends loved them. However, I made them the same way (Folded in half) and in a pan like making grilled cheese sandwiches. They were much better like that. I tried this way and found that the skin on the beef was more tough after being in the oven for 20 minutes. The cheese was over done this way, and honestly, the bread doesn't brown as well (at least in my oven) and just got a bit of color and more dry. I'd recommend making these in a pan instead of in the oven. Taste is better and it's done quicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lemonhoney

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
I had never heard of these until my husband was waxing nostalgic for his childhood school lunches. I made these, and he almost cried from happiness! They brought back great memories for him, and they were pretty darn tasty, too! Thanks for posting this fun, retro recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allie D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
These were good, i liked them alot and im sure my kids would love them too, i actually never heard of these but very good and perfect for little ones, thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
I followed the directions exactly with perfect results. I have no idea WHY these are so great, but they are. Maybe it's the nostalgia of school days, or maybe the combination of butter and cheese with a hotdog. At any rate- my whole family loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, Iowa, USA
Living In: Woodbine, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Java_Girl
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
These were so cool and very kid friendly! They are very fast to prep. Just slather the butter, place the cheese and hot dog and wrap. I ended up using 3 toothpicks to secure it because just using one tore the bread. The beef franks are a little too big for my kids so I used regular hot dogs. As much as I love cooking I don't do it until after my little ones are in bed so I'm really happy about this because I can throw it together and let it bake while I play with them. Thank you for posting this recipe, it's given me so much more than just the Weiner Winks! One more thing, instead of getting butter on my fingers while I roll it, I just wrap the hot dog first and then spray the no calorie butter spray on the outside. Still bakes up nice and toasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Java_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
my mom did it when a was young but she added tomato sauce over bread (before the chesse) and some kepchup over the cheesse...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madrid, Madrid, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
This recipe brings a smile to my face. Mom used to make these for us when we were growing up. I love them! Ketchup or mustard to serve with or both mixed together. Thanks for bringing back some memories:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Hot Dogs

Your kids will love these great ways to make, and eat, hot dogs.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States