Wiener Winks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
These are great. They work well as a quick, easy and packable not-too-formal lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlsbad, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Hagerman, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
These are so good! I think I almost like these better than wrapping the hotdogs in biscuits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
Thanks so much for this recipe!! I am another one who used to eat these in school! They are the best. I'm going to make them very soon for my kids. Thanks for posting the fat content on each recipe though, I am definitely going to have to limit us to one each!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chenoa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
I had never heard of these until my husband was waxing nostalgic for his childhood school lunches. I made these, and he almost cried from happiness! They brought back great memories for him, and they were pretty darn tasty, too! Thanks for posting this fun, retro recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allie D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
If you have round top bread, just tear off the crusts and roll it flat with a rolling pin. I used two flattened slices per frank, and it worked nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
My mom used to make these after church when I was a little girl - thanks for bringing back wonderful memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
these are the perfect answer to an after school snack. My kids and I love them. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
These were just to much work for the end result. Taste was fine but the work going into it was not worth it. I can just make a grilled cheese with a hot dog cut up inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Kenmore, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2005
I also used the rounded top bread and had trouble getting the slices to wrap around the hotdog (and stay). Ended up having to use two skewer sticks (about an inch longer than regular toothpicks) per "wink", and had trouble with the bread ripping. They tasted good, but I overdid them a little (25 minutes in the oven, although not overly browned) and the bread ended up being a bit too crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2005
It takes several batches to fill up my gang but they absolutely love these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monahans, Texas, USA
Living In: New Braunfels, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Caramelized Baked Chicken

Soy, ketchup, garlic, and honey create a sweet, sticky, tangy sauce for wings.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States