Wiener Winks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
Meals like this make my hubby smile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaddieLC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lemonhoney
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Fun for kids and teens. We used to call these "Skater Dogs" When I was in school and making these. All my friends loved them. However, I made them the same way (Folded in half) and in a pan like making grilled cheese sandwiches. They were much better like that. I tried this way and found that the skin on the beef was more tough after being in the oven for 20 minutes. The cheese was over done this way, and honestly, the bread doesn't brown as well (at least in my oven) and just got a bit of color and more dry. I'd recommend making these in a pan instead of in the oven. Taste is better and it's done quicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lemonhoney

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
I followed the directions exactly with perfect results. I have no idea WHY these are so great, but they are. Maybe it's the nostalgia of school days, or maybe the combination of butter and cheese with a hotdog. At any rate- my whole family loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, Iowa, USA
Living In: Woodbine, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
In order to not make a mess with these, the easiest thing that I've always done is just butter the bread and lay it on a square piece of tin foil. then just roll it up and twist the ends and cook for about 12-15 minutes and it usually all stays together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by burtonm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
This recipe brings a smile to my face. Mom used to make these for us when we were growing up. I love them! Ketchup or mustard to serve with or both mixed together. Thanks for bringing back some memories:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
Wow!! we loved these!! Used margerine instead of butter. Quick, tasty and nice presentation. These are not messy at all, and probably the easiest recipe i got from this site. Flavorful without much effort. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vigo, Galicia, Spain
Photo by Java_Girl
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
These were so cool and very kid friendly! They are very fast to prep. Just slather the butter, place the cheese and hot dog and wrap. I ended up using 3 toothpicks to secure it because just using one tore the bread. The beef franks are a little too big for my kids so I used regular hot dogs. As much as I love cooking I don't do it until after my little ones are in bed so I'm really happy about this because I can throw it together and let it bake while I play with them. Thank you for posting this recipe, it's given me so much more than just the Weiner Winks! One more thing, instead of getting butter on my fingers while I roll it, I just wrap the hot dog first and then spray the no calorie butter spray on the outside. Still bakes up nice and toasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Java_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
These were a little bit of a mess for me. The bread totally tore and was a little too crispy after cooking in the oven. I'm giving it 3 stars though because they did taste good. I probably wont make these again, but stick to how I usually make these which is with cresent roll dough. You wrap 1 triangle of cresent roll dough around the hot dog and bake according to the cresent roll directions. I love these that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
I love this recipe. My mother made weiner winks (pigs in a blanket)for us often. She had the same recipe, but added one more step. She would wrap each with a slice of bacon and then secure it with a toothpick. Hint: For crisper bacon can cook the bacon a little in the microwave first. When using bacon you can also use less butter on the bread. (You only need to butter two corners, because the bacon covers the rest of the bread). It is a little messy and isn't the quickest recipe, but I think it's worth it every once in a while. Yummy, I'm making this tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
These are great. They work well as a quick, easy and packable not-too-formal lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlsbad, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Hagerman, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Hot Dogs

Your kids will love these great ways to make, and eat, hot dogs.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States