Wiener Winks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
my mom did it when a was young but she added tomato sauce over bread (before the chesse) and some kepchup over the cheesse...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madrid, Madrid, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
These are soooooo good! I used the Pilsbury biscuits instead and the family loves them! I made them for my sisters for the last super bowl part we had they were like little kids sneaking one before it was time. Now I make them about every other month. No one gets tired of eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Monroe, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
How cool are these!? I have unexpectedly been taken back to Sunnyside Elementary School on my favorite lunch day...weiner winks!!!! Yay!!!! I cannot wait to make these for my two boys...I tried once a long time ago but forgot to butter the bread. Couldn't figure out how something so simple didn't turn out the way I remembered them! I think the butter is the key! THANK YOU so much for posting this...I never forgot about those good 'ol winks. Now if I could only figure out how they made their pizza burgers, and those pioneer bars! (peanut butter bar w/choc. frosting) If anyone out there knows the school lunch recipie for either of those, please share! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I just made this for breakfast (yes, breakfast), as I am tired of egg dishes, and we don't have much else here. I left out the butter, and used swiss cheese instead. It's an interesting combination. I used jalapeno mustard on the side as a "dipping sauce."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I make these with angus franks. Very good and just like what we had in school as a kid. Same name, too! Sometimes use different cheeses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Tried these tonight, exactly as recipe is listed, and they came out quite good! Nice and golden brown-crispy! The kids liked them as did my wife (she thought they were better than the croissant dogs she sometimes makes). These were fast, easy, and good. What more do we need some nights? Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
On paper my kids should have LOVED these, however both of them disliked them greatly. Ended up using the same ingredients and making grilled cheese sandwich with a side of hot dog, which they devoured in 0.10 seconds! Go figure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Try: cook the Hot Dogs on the frying pan, put them on a plate, put the Lightly buttered bread down on the frying pan with half a slice of cheese (a whole slice is too much) then the hotdog on top the cheese (top to bottom, Not diagonal). check the bread, when its golden brown pick it up with a spacula, have a folded paper towel ready, put it down on the paper towel, fold the bread around the hotdog and fold the towel around the bread and put aside, finish the rest of the hotdog raps. Enjoy! Much easier and tastier! Just try it and see! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
They were good, I just had an extremely hard time keeping the bread down with the toothpicks, it kept ripping the bread and didn't fold together well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
you can't beat this school time classic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by friskyspatula

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rolla, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Hot Dogs

Your kids will love these great ways to make, and eat, hot dogs.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States