Wicked Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I made these brownies as a base for a trifle and the dense cake-like consistency was perfect for that. I made a few changes based on other reviews. I used the 1 stick of butter but only used 2 eggs and half the flour. I also added a teaspoon of vanilla. These are not sweet brownies but may be good with a frosting or ganache. I did not add the nuts to the batter but sprinkled them between layers of the trifle. I also used an 11x7 pan instead of a 9x13.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Very Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
These were so so dry, Ended up using a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Oh my gosh, I wish I would have read the prevoiusly posted comments before I made these. I agree with the other postings saying that the batter was sooo thick I knew they wouldn't turn out in the back of my mind. I also baked at on;y 325 degrees and for 5 less minutes and I ended up with a pan of brownies you couldn't eat beacuse they were so dry. Sad I wasted all the ingredients and my time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetocook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
I couldn't believe this recipe had so much sugar in it, but was very tastless. They turned out like dry cake. I was very excited to try a new brownie recipe, then very disappointed when I took them out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
these brownies were awesome, I added chocolate chunks and left out the nuts but other than that followed the recipe. we are living on a small russian island at the moment and duncan hines is hard to come by. These more than satisfied my chocolate fever! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Bluestein

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sterling, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
This was a great recipe! Rivals my mom's "best ever" recipe that I loved as a kid. Had a sweet tooth when I was making them, added three tablespoons creamy peanut butter, half a cup of chocolate chips and a handful of flake coconut, and they weren't too sweet, but were chewy and great-tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I read the reviews and went with 1 cup butter, 3 eggs, 2 cups flour and I added 1/4 cup or so of chocolate syrup with the eggs and sugar mix. Everyone loved them. Good luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amelia, Ohio, USA
Living In: New Richmond, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Too much sugar, not enough butter. Ended up having to use milk in a desperate attempt. Much better with a layer of cream cheese in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I did not like these brownies. they were more like an extremely dry cake rather than brownies. i understand some ppl enjoy cake like brownies, but im not one of them. I added an exta 1/2 cup of butter as others suggested. I also added a 1/2 cup of brown sugar as the batter didnt taste sweet enough before baking. before baking I added peanut butter on top and swirled it in. though, none of these tweaks made a huge difference in me liking these brownies. sorry wicked brownie originator, theyre just arent that great at all :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States